Malung Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kopparberg County
Malung


Guide to Malung Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Fors Chapel
Malung Church
Malung, Old Chapel
Yttermalungs Chapel

History

Malung-Sälen Municipality is a municipality in Dalarna County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Malung.
Malung Municipality was created in 1971 by the merging of old Malung with the adjacent entities Lima and Transtrand. In 2007 the Government of Sweden decided to approve the present name, which took effect on January 1, 2008. Very early this parish was created from Mora parish. It is believed that during the 1200's the parish of Lima was created from this parish.
[1]


Malung Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1616 Malung and Lima, 1616- Malung
Län 1631-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1731 Malung, 1732-1893 Malung, Lima and Äppelbo, 1894-1947 Malung, 1948-1970 Nås and Malungs domsaga
Domsaga 1687-1901 Västra, later called Västerdalarne, 1902-1970 Nås and Malung, 1971-1973 Malung, 1974- Mora
Fögderi 1720-1966 Västerdal, 1967- Mora
Kommun 1863- Malung
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Vesterdals Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Västerdals kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11213
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Afradsberg, Afradstjern, Ahlbacken, Andersviksberget, Andåfallet, Axsjön, Axsjöberget, Axsjöfallet, Axsjöåsen,

Backa, Bjuråker, Bresjön, Bresjönäs, Brindbergsfallet, Brunkölsberg, Böle,

Fors västra, Fors Östra,

Granberget, Grimsåker, Grumsmyrheden, Grönland, Gåstjernsberg Västra, Gåstjernsberg Östra, Gägra, Gärdet, Gärdås, Gökberget,

Holarne Backby, Holarne Myckelby, Hole, Hopfallet, Hyttqvarn,

Idback, Ifvarsberg, Ingaråsen,

Köhlberget, Köhlfallet, Köhlåsen,

Laxmåsen, Laxmåsfallet, Likofallet, Liskogsåsen , Långandersfallet, Löfberget, Löfåsen,

Maberget, Mannifallet, Medskogsberg, Milsjön, Milsjöheden, Mon Norra, Mon Mellan, Mon Södra, Mon Lill, Myckelbyn,

Nains qvarn, Nordanåker, Näsberget Östra,

Orrudden,

Prestgården, Påhlfallet,

Qvinsnäset,

Rankfallet, Risåsen, Ryan, Råmyrheden, Råskknölen,

Sandbäckåsen, Sillerö, Skolgården, Stenåsen, Storbyn, Sundheden, Sundsberg, Sundsfall, Svedberget,

Temtofors, Torpfallet, Tyngen, Tyngsjön, Tårehällan, Tällbyn,

Ufåheden, Utsjö Västra, Utsjö Östra,

Västra Fors, Västra Gåstjernsberg, Västra Utsjö, Västra Öije,

Wallerås, Wattaå, Westerfallet, Westerviksmåsen, Wåhlfallet,

Åsbyn,

Äggen,

Öije Västra, Öije Östra, Österviksfallet, Östra Fors, Östra Gåstjernsberg, Östra Näsberget, Östra Utsjö, Östra Öije,



To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Malung parish, Husförhörslängd 1845-1854, AI;5a, b, c, d, and e, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Malung Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/