Malheur County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Malheur County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Malheur County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||February 17, 1887|
|Address||Malheur County Courthouse|
251 B Street W
Vale, Or 97918
Malheur County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 Malheur County, Oregon Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Neighboring Counties
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Archives and Libraries
- 6.2 Biography
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Church History and Records
- 6.5 Court Records
- 6.6 History
- 6.7 Land and Property
- 6.8 Maps
- 6.9 Migration
- 6.10 Military History and Records
- 6.11 Newspapers
- 6.12 Probate Records
- 6.13 Rivers and Waterways
- 6.14 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 6.15 Taxation
- 6.16 Vital Records
- 7 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 8 Websites
- 9 Malheur County Oregon Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Malheur River, which runs through the county. "Malheur" is French for misfortune or tragedy. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. 
Malheur County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, probate, and land records from 1887. 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
- Adrian: When a branch of the Oregon Short Line Railroad was built into this part of the county, there was a post office called Riverview on east side of Snake River, and railroad officials did not desire to have a station of the same name on the west side. Reuben McCreary, who platted the townsite of Riverview on the west side, suggested that if that name was unsatisfactory, the name Adrian be used, which was adopted by the railroad on Feb. 13, 1913. This was to commemorate his birthplace, Adrian, Hancock County, Illinois. Riverview post office with its descriptive name was established on the east side of the river Aug. 22, 1911, with John E. Holley postmaster. About 1915 the office was moved west across the river to the vicinity of Adrian station, and the name of the office was changed to Adrian on Nov. 10, 1919. Earlier editions of Oregon Geographic Names ascribe the name to James Adrian, a local sheepman, but Adrian did not arrive in the area until 1916.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Malheur County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Malheur County Historical Society
1186 SW Sixth Ave
Ontario, OR 97914-3310
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Nyssa Oregon Family History Center
- Ontario Oregon Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Malheur County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Malheur County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives (backup site]
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Malheur County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Malheur, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malheur_County,_Oregon accessed 28 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Malheur County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Malheur County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Malheur County Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malheur_County,_Oregon, accessed 28 November 2018.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).