To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Maidenhead, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Maidenhead, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Maidenhead, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maidenhead, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bray; Cookham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Cookham
Registration District Cookham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1866
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MAIDENHEAD, a market-town, partly in the parish of Bray, and partly in that of Cookham, having separate jurisdiction, though locally in the hundred of Bray and Cookham, union of Cookham, county of Berks, 13 miles (N. E. by E.) from Reading, and 26 (W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Wesleyans, and Independents. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Maidenhead parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Maidenhead Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP



1791-1948
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1796-1822, 1769-1837, 1816-1837




FS Catalog PRs
1795-1823
1795-1823
1795-1823

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Maidenhead in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch