Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Maiden Bradley
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Maiden Bradley

Guide to Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mere; Norton Ferris
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Mere
Registration District Mere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608-1609; 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

MAIDEN-BRADLEY, a village and a parish in the district of Mere; the village and most of the parish is in Wiltshire, the rest of the parish is in Somerset. The village stands 4¼ miles N of Mere, and five ESE of Witham railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG 1837-1855
1754-1908
1797-1870
NIM 1626-1837
1608-1837
1626-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.