To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Mahaska County, Iowa)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mahaska County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Mahaska County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Mahaska County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1843
County Seat Oskaloosa
Courthouse
IowaMahaskaCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Mahaska. The County has Oskaloosa as its seat and the County was created 1843. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[1]

Mahaska County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1844 1880 1844 1845 1844 1847
Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths Jan 1891. General compliance by 1924.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

  • Mahaska County Genealogy at BeforeTime.net (Free)
    • maps, biographies, personal references etc from sources prior to 1930
    • links to digital images of short histories, books, and maps

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1843--Mahaska County was created 17 February 1843 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Washington County prior to organization 1 March 1844. County seat:  Oskaloosa [3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Lacey
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Jasper • Keokuk • Marion • Monroe • Poweshiek • Wapello

Resources[edit | edit source]

Biographical[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

  • Population: 22,335 (2000); 21,522 (1990)

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps[edit | edit source]

Jasper CountyPoweshiek CountyIowa CountyMarion CountyKeokuk CountyMonroe CountyWapello CountyIA MAHASKA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


  • Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Iowa
  • 1875 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for the Townships of Adams, Black Oak, Cedar, Des Moines, Harrison, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Oskaloosa, Pleasant Grove, Prairie, Richland, Scott, Union, and White Oak.
  • 1895 Plat Map: Monroe Township
  • 1905 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for the Townships of Adams, Beacon and Oskaloosa, Black Oak, Cedar, Des Moines, Garfield and Lincoln, Harrison, Madison, Monroe, Pleasant Grove, Prairie, Richland, Scott, Spring Creek, Union, and White Oak.
  • 1913 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.
  • 1914 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.
  • 1920 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Oskaloosa Daily Herald. 1950, 1957, 1960, and 1965. Oskaloosa, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Mahaska - Probate records.


Keo-Mah Genealogical Society. Mahaska County, Iowas, Probates and Guardianships, 1844-1881. Des Moines: Iowa Genealogical Society, 1992.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

KEO-MAH Genealogical Society
209 A Ave East
Oskaloosa, IA 52577-2807
Telephone:641-673-9373
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Oskaloosa Iowa Family History Center 1714 Pella Ave, Oskaloosa, IA 52577

United States Location Map

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.






Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free Select from research collection topics
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "mahaska county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "mahaska county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Mahaska County IA at LDS Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Mahaska County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Mahaska County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Mahaska, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahaska_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mahaska County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Mahaska County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahaska_County%2C_Iowa, accessed 15 October 2019.