Madison County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Madison County

Guide to Madison County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Frederickstown
Organized: February 14, 1818
Parent County(s): Cape Girardeau, Ste. Genevieve[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bollinger  • Iron  • Perry  • St. Francois  • Wayne
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriMadisonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map Madison County, Missouri.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for James Madison. The County has Fredericktown as its seat and the County was created December 14, 1818. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Madison County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Fredericktown, MO 63645
Phone: 573-783-2176
Madison County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1900 and local census 1876.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1821 and military discharge records from 1943.
County Magistrate has probate records from 1820.
County Assessor has land records from 1821.[3]

Madison County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1821 1883 1821 1821 1821 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Madison County, Missouri:

Unincorporated:

  • Blush (Blush had a post office from 1898 to 1904): Landmark Hunter page - see also Oak Grove
  • Catherine - see Catherine Place
  • Deguire (Deguire had a post office 1890-1897): Landmark Hunter page
  • Dillons Mine: Landmark Hunter page
  • Ebeneezer - see Cherokee Pass
  • Einstein Silver Mine - see Silver Mine
  • Fryeberg: Histopolis page
  • Gordonton AKA Gordontown: Landmark Hunter page
  • Gordontown - see Gordonton
  • Leatherwood - see Jewett
  • Mill Creek - see Millcreek
  • Pickerville: Histopolis page
  • Silver Mine AKA Einstein Silver Mine AKA Silvermine: Landmark Hunter page
  • Silvermine - see Silver Mine
  • Simmstown: Histopolis page
  • Skrainka (Skrainka had a post office 1884-1897): Landmark Hunter page
  • Slab Town: Histopolis page
  • Sonderman Town: Histopolis page
  • Stacy - see Trace Creek
  • Stringtown: Histopolis page
  • Trace Creek AKA Stacy AKA Tracecreek: Landmark Hunter page
  • Tracecreek - see Trace Creek
  • Twelve Mile - see Twelvemile

Townships

  • Big Creek
  • Castor
  • Central
  • German
  • Liberty
  • Polk

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Madison County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

General

Census Records

1830

1840

1850

1860

1870

1876 State Agricultural Census

  • 1876 State Agricultural Census: The census book is in the courthouse, Fredericktown, MO, and has been microfilmed by the State Archives, although this record may be incomplete. This is the only Missouri state census that has survived for Madison County.
  • Madison County State Census 1876, book and digital images of Missouri State and Territorial Census Records. (FHL)
  • Miller, Michael G. 1876 State Census for Madison Co., Missouri: An Original Work. Fredericktown, MO: Foundation for Historical Preservation, 2001. Other Libraries

1880

1890 Special Enumeration

1900

1910

1920

1930

State and Territorial Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

At least one online source says that Madison County court records date back to 1827, but this appears to be incorrect. Court records for the county as microfilmed by the State Archives are extant from as early as 1820, with territorial records dating back to 1810. See Missouri State Archives Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm: Madison County (pdf).

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Madison County land records date back to 1819. See Missouri State Archives Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm: Madison County (pdf).

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Madison County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Chronicles of an Old Missouri Parish : historical sketches of St. Michael's church, Fredericktown, Madison County, Mo. By John Ernest Rothensteiner. 1917. St. Louis, Mo. : "Amerika" Print. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Historical Madison: The History of Madison County, Missouri 1818-1988. Fredericktown, MO: Heritage and Landmarks Commission and Madison County Historical Society, 1989.
  • History of Southeast Missouri, Vol. 1. By Robert Sidney Douglass. 1912. Chicago: The Lewis Publishing Company. Available online at Google Books; | Internet Archive.
  • History of Southeast Missouri. 1888. Chicago: The Goodspeed Publishing Co. Available online at Missouri State Archives
  • A History of Madison County, Missouri. By Henry Clay Thompson. Abt 1940. (Originally published in installments in the Fredericktown Democrat News).

Maps and Gazetteers

St. Francois CountyPerry CountyBollinger CountyWayne CountyIron CountyMO MADISON.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Madison County:

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Madison County probate records date from 1821.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Ozark Regional Library
    115 South Main Street
    Fredericktown, MO
    Phone: 573-783-2120
    Website
    Facebook

Museums

  • Historic Madison County
    122 North Main Street
    Fredericktown, MO 63645
    Facebook

Societies

  • River Heritage Association
    New Madrid, MO
    Website
    (covers several counties including Madison)

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • genealogytrails.com. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • kindredtrails.com. Free. genealogy & family history resources
  • epodunk.com. Free. profile and links regarding Madison County
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Madison, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madison_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/12/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.