Madehurst, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Madehurst, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1639|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
MADEHURST (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Avisford, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 3¾ miles (N. W. by N.) from Arundel; The church is a plain structure.
Madehurst St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish in the Arun district of West Sussex.
Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Madehurst St Mary Magdalene
Madehurst is a village and civil parish in the Arun district of West Sussex Madehurst Wikipedia
Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Madehurst St Mary Magdalene
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Madehurst
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 30 September 2013