To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Macclesfield, St Paul, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Macclesfield St Paul, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Macclesfield, St Paul, Cheshire
St Pauls Church - Macclesfield - Cheshire.jpg
St Pauls Church - Macclesfield - Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1874
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and a newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the Northern division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield,Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury.

Christchurch, was erected in 1775, at the expense of Charles Roe.

In the year 1844, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners endowed two church districts St. Paul's and St. Peter's, Macclesfield, and the districts then became ecclesiastical parishes. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

St. Paul's was built 1843-4 as part of a government scheme to build churches in the new urban areas. They are known as Commissioners' Churches or Waterloo Churches. There was a grant of £1,000 to the total cost of £5,400. The earliest Commissioners' churches were fully funded but this led to some extravagance and excess. The rules were changed so that the local community had to raise part of the money and the grant would not cover a tower. St. Paul's is built of stone from Kerridge.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Macclesfield, St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Macclesfield, St Paul Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1844-1909
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1884-1909
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Society of Friends
  • Independent
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Socinians
  • Roman Catholics

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Macclesfield

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Macclesfield

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Macclesfield St Paul on GENUKI

Macclesfield on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk