To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Macclesfield, St John the Evangelist, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Macclesfield, St John the Evangelist, Statham Street was founded as a chapel of ease for Macclesfield, St Michael's in 1873 and became a parish in 1888 for part of the town.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Macclesfield, St John the Evangelist, Cheshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
MACCLESFIELD ST JOHN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1873-1906
1888-1906

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers, 1873-1929 Cheshire Record Office reference: P192/1-2.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1878-1929. Marriages 1888-1911. BRITISH 1656450 Items 4-5
Marriages 1911-1914 BRITISH 1656451 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]