Møre og Romsdal County, Norway Genealogy
|Norway Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Møre og Romsdal ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Family History Resources[edit | edit source]
Government Offices and Sites[edit | edit source]
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Møre og Romsdal County[edit | edit source]
Church Records/Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- These are the most important records you will use, and a majority of your research will be found in them. All civil registration was kept by the church parishes until 2012.
- Digitalarkivet: Digitized parish registers of Møre og Romsdal
- Norway Indexed parish register transcriptions
- The Family History Library has microfilms for all Møre og Romsdal parish registers up to about 1920. These can be viewed at the library or at a Family Histor Center near you.
- By clicking on the parish links above, you may find direct links to all the records for that parish.
- You do not have to be fluent in Norwegian. These records use a very limited, specialized vocabulary that is easy to learn. For help reading and interpreting theses records, see Norwegian Genealogical Word List, Norway Handwriting, and Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lessons 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and 3: Handwritten Records
- Parish Register Headings for Norway: This pdf gives the translation of headings for the records in different time periods. When a record is written with labeled columns it is much easier to search. Much of the material you read in each column will just be names and dates, since the meaning of those names (child, parents, godparents, minister) only has to be read once, in the column heading.
- For more detail on the contents of these records and how to use them, see Norway Church Records and Norway Civil Registration.
Censuses[edit | edit source]
- 1801 Census
- 1865 Census
- 1875 Census Partial
- Norway Census, 1875 FamilySearch database
- 1885 Census (cities)
- Borgund herred, Statlig folketelling, 1891 (scanned)
- 1900 Census
- 1910 Census
Parish priest's census (Scanned)
- Sunnmøre prosti, Manntall 26, 1664 - 1666
- Romsdal prosti, Manntall 27, 1664 - 1666
- Nordmøre prosti, Manntall 28, 1664 - 1666
- Nordmøre prosti, Manntall 29, 1664 - 1666
The bailiff and the magistrate's census (scanned)
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
MORE OG ROMSDAL COUNTY, HOLM PARISH, BYGDEBOK FOR HOLM SOKN BAND I
Grovanes, Sletfjerding, Indre Mittet, Jørngarden, Lindsetgarden, Jakobstua, Henningstua, Halvardgarden, Torsteingarden, Ole Mittet, Harstad, Mittetgjerdet, Averøya, Sjølaupet, Staurset, Staursetfonna, Bøland, Staurset, Øverbøen, Rabbehaugen, Dale, Dalefonna, Dalebogen, Gunnargarden, Ambjørnsgarden, Nygarden, Dalesletten, Haugen, Daleholen, Ytre Mittet, Ljøsåneset, Kristengarden, Nygjerdet, Mittetbakken, Bottolvgarden, Mittetgjerdet, Mittetstrand, Morkestrand, Morkestrandsgjerdet, Mork, Morkehaugen, Indre Slemmen, Nygård, Ytre Slemmen, Slemmegjerdet, Staurset, Tuften, Dale Pegarden, Teigen, Kristoffergarden, Aslakgarden, Nygjerdet, Bøland, Jorgarden, Oljonsågarden, Nilsgarden, Sveingarden, Jakobsgarden, Johansgarden, Amundstrand, Strandheim, Morkehaugen, Mork, Innlågå, Slemmen, Slemmegjeilen, Slemmely, Bottolvplassen, Løteigen, Holmsgjerdet, Fredheim, Øverhaugen/Lunheim, Langnes, Indre Herje, Ytre Herje, Herjegjeilen, Einen, Herjerabben, Herjelien, Alfarnes, Inderneset, Myren, Nordnes, Alfheim, Åfarnes, Holm, Tronspegarden, Holm, Nerhaugen, Sjølaupet, Holmsjøen, Harderplassen, Teigen, Hagen, Y. Herje, Y. Gjeilen, Tønnes Holsæter, Alfarnesbakken, Ødegård, Framnes, Lybekk, Fredheim
Land Records[edit | edit source]
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- I Kongens teneste: Militær utskriving frå Bergens stift 1709-1719 (available at the Family History Library)
Passenger Lists[edit | edit source]
- Emigrants from Kristiansund 1882-1930
- Emigrants from Ålesund 1878-1930
- Passport Register for Ålesund 1850-1890
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1680-1720 - Clerical Probates, 1680-1720 Bergen Diocese. Includes these districts and counties:
- Hordaland County
- Bergen City
- Sogn og Fjordane County
- Møre og Romsdal county
- Hordaland County
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Koppskatten 1645 for Dale skipreide (Dale skipreie include the parishes of Norddal, Stranda, Stordal).
Skattematrikkelen 1647 (Tax records of farms for Møre og Romsdal County).