Mörbylånga Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Mörbylånga Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Collections
- 2.1 Census Records
- 2.2 Church Records
- 2.3 Military Records
- 2.4 Related Sources
- 2.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 2.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 2.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 2.8 References
Mörbylånga Municipality is a municipality in Kalmar County, in south-eastern Sweden, located on the island of Öland in the Baltic Sea. The seat is located in the town of Mörbylånga, while the largest town is Färjestaden.
The present municipality, that makes up the southern part of Öland, was formed in 1974. The eighteen original entities as of 1863, had during the nationwide subdivision reform of 1952 been regrouped into three larger units. Ottenby was united with Mörbylånga in 1967 and in 1974 Torslunda was added.
|Mörbylånga Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy|
|Militär indelning||add here|
Bengtstorp, Beteby Nr 1 - 3, Beteby Inhyses, Bårby Norra Nr 1 - 2, Bårby Södra Nr 1 - 7, Bårby Inhyses, Hyresfolk inom Mörbylånga köping,
Kvarter med tomtnummer inom köpingen:
Kvarter Björn Nr 33 36
Gupido Nr 15 - 16
Dansken Nr 41 - 44
Draken Nr 37 - 40
Herkules Nr 1 - 4
Kanonen Nr 29 - 32
Kulan Nr 25 - 28
Skantsen Nr 17 - 20
Snäcken Nr 11 - 14
Svensken Nr 21 - 24
Venus Nr 5 - 6
Vikingen Nr 7 - 10
Köpingen Mörbylånga, Mörbylånga nr 1 - 14, Mörbylånga Inhyses, Mörbylånga Köping,
Q se K,
Risinge Nr 1 - 5, Risinge Inhyses,
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Kalmar Church Records, 1577-1907; index 1625-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.
- PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
- Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties. To learn more click here.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Ortnamnsregister för Mörbylånga, Husförhörslängd 1843-1870.