To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lynsted, Kent

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Lynstead, Kent Genealogy)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lynsted, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lynsted, Kent
Lynsted St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Lynsted St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Teynham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LINSTEAD, a village and a parish in Faversham district, Kent. The village stands 1½ mile SSW of Teynham r. station, and 3 SE of Sittingbourne; and has a pillar letter-box under Sittingbourne. The parish contains also the village of Green-street, which has a postoffice under Sittingbourne. [1]


Lynsted is a village in the  civil parish of Lynsted with Kingsdown in the Swale District of Kent between Faversham and Siitingbourne, see Lynsted Wikipedia

Lynsted with Kingsdown St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish which includes Green-Street in the Diocese of Canterbury; the parish is part of the Teynham with Lynsted and Kingsdown benefice.

The church of St Peter and St Paul, The Street, Lynsted   dates from an ancient chapelry in Teynham, Kent Ancient Parish which was rebuilt in 14th century but retaining parts of the chapelry from the 13th century. The church is designated a Grade 1 listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 296-307 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

In some record sources the spelling Linsted or Lynsted may be found.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP


Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lynsted parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lynsted Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Linstead are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Lynsted 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Faversham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk