Lyne and Megget, Peeblesshire, Scotland Genealogy
Lyne & Megget (#765)
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Lyne and Megget. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
LYNE and MEGGET, a parish, in the county of Peebles, 5 miles (W.) from Peebles. The district of Lyne, though consisting only of two farms, is, from being the site of the parochial church and manse, regarded as the head of this extensive parish, which comprehends also the suppressed parish of Megget, nearly fifteen miles distant from Lyne, and locally separated by the intervening lands of Manor and the river Tweed. The church is an ancient and venerable edifice of the later English style of architecture. It was thoroughly repaired in 1830, without any deviation from its original character. A chapel of ease has been erected in the Megget district of the parish, to which is attached a good schoolroom.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Lyne and Megget. Also available at the Family History Library.
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.
Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Lyne and Megget.
Below is information for any known surname indexes:
|1841||941.46/B1 X2m 1841|
|1851||941.46/B1 X2m 1851|
|1861||941.46/B1 X2m 1861|
|1881||6086640 (1 fiche)|
The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers
|Years Covered||FHL Film Number|
|Births:||1649-1854||0067918 item 7|
|Marriages:||1649-1854||0067918 item 7|
|Deaths:||1840-1854||0067918 item 7|
Condition of Original Registers
Indexed: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.
Births: Births are intermixed with marriages until 1683. No entries March 1658–February 1660 or January 1683–May 1725, except a few for 1706–1709. There are irregular entries 1753–1771 inclusive and no entries 1781–1788. Mothers' names are rarely recorded until 1788.
Marriages: Marriages are intermixed with births until 1683. There are no entries March 1658–February 1660 or June1682–May 1801, except five or six entries 1739–1762 among the births for the same period.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1649–1682, 1852–1951
Miscellaneous Records 1726–1780
Minutes, Collections, etc. 1834–1838 - few leaves
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/255.
Nonconformist Church Records
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.
There are no known nonconformist groups.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Lyne and Megget was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Peebles. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Peebles. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
Return to the Peeblesshire parish list.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 216-225. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 February 2014.