Lynchmere, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Lynchmere, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1590|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
LINCHMERE, or LYNCHMERE, a parish in Midhurst district, Sussex; on the Midhurst and Haslemere railway, 3 miles SW of Haslemere. Post town, Haslemere, under Liphook.
Linchmere (often spelt Lynchmere in earlier records) St Peter is an Ancient parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex which forms part of the county border with neighbours Bramshott, Hampshire
The history of the church Linchmere
The Parish church of St Peter has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Linchmere Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Lynchmere, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|LYNCHMERE PARISH Online Records|
|PRTS||1565-1602, 1605-1716, 1742-1901||
||1566-1697, 1714-1717, 1742-1902|| |
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, [http://visionofbritain.org.uk/place/9329 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.