To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lymm, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lymm, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lymm, Cheshire
Lymm St Mary Cheshire.jpg
Lymm St Mary Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LYMM, is a village, a parish, and a sub-district in Altrincham district, Cheshire. The village stands on the Bridgewater canal, near the Manchester, Warrington, and Garston railway,  it is 1¼ mile SSE of the river Mersey, 1¼ of a mile SW of the river Bollin, and 4½  miles ESE of Warrington; and has a station on the railway, ther is a post office under Warrington. The parish contains also the hamlets of Heatley-Heath and Cliffe-Lane, and the places called Crouchley-Lane, Burford-Lane, Lymm Booths, Oughtrington, Broom edge, Reddish, and Stat ham; and it extends to the Mersey and the Bollin Acres. An Independent chapel was built, in 1863, there are also chapels for Baptists, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Lymm St Mary the Virgin is an ancient parish in Cheshire and includes Broomedge,Burford Lane,Cliffe Lane,Crouchley Lane,Heatley Heath,Lymm Booths,Oughtrington,Reddish,Statham.
The Domesday Book shows that a church was on the site in the 11th century.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Lymm parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lymm Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Lymm, St. Wenefride (Roman Catholic), Booth's Hill Road. Built in 1905.
  • Lymm, Baptist Chapel, Cherry Lane. Built in 1810.
  • Lymm, Baptist Chapel, Higher Lane. Built in 1850 (with burial ground).
  • Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), New Road. Built in 1809, rebuilt in 1879, closed in 1968 Registers 1809–1837 and 1929–1967 are at the Cheshire Record Office.  Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 258/1-3.
Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1837-1960. BRITISH 2000039 Item 4
Marriages, 1929-1954. BRITISH 2299472 Items 11 - 13
  • Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Eagle Brow. Built in 1849, rebuilt in 1897. Registers of baptisms 1832–1862 are at Manchester Central Library. Microfilm copy of original registers filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England. Localities where circuit members resided include: Lowton, Kuntsford, Warrington, Lymm, Partrington, Newchurch, Shelton, Woodhouses, Highleigh, Bedford, St. Helen, Latchford, Culchath, Bank Quay, Croft, Edge Green, Bowden, Glaze Brook, Ashton, Tabley, Ashton-in-the-Willows, Carrington, Caddishead, Parr-Toll-Bar, Billinge, Pemberton, Irlam, Parr-Stocks, Altrincham, Walton, Vulcan Foundery, Risley, Manchester, Bold, Appleton, Dunham, Woodcoats, Heatley, Hulme, Agden, Warburton, Statham, Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: C18/12.
Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1832-1862, 1904. BRITISH 2357269 Item 10
  •  Lymm, Methodist Chapel (Free), Cherry Lane. Built in 1849.
  •  Lymm, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Brookfield Road. Built in 1863.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District[edit | edit source]
  •  Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Warrington (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Poor law records for Lymm, 1690-1872 Church of England. Parish Church of Lymm (Cheshire)

Notes Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P119/5, P119/6/1-5, P119/7/1-90, P119/19/1-3, P119/20, P119/22/1-19, P119/23/1-16, P119/25/1-59, P119/26/1-77, P119/27/1-27, P119/28/1-81, P119/29/1-2.

Poor Law Content FHL Film
Parish books, 1690-1753, 1736-1772 (includes churchwardens', overseers' and constables' assessments and payments). BRITISH 2104843 Items 6 - 8
Parish books, 1772-1837 (includes churchwardens', overseers' and constables assessments and payments). Churchwardens' vouchers, 1772-1848. Constables' accounts, 1781-1804. Poor rate assessments, 1798-1799, 1820-1832. VAULT BRITISH 2104844
Poor rate assessments, 1832-1836. Overseers' vouchers, 1729, 1772, 1813-1835. Settlement papers, 1703, 1716, 1729-1831. Apprenticeship indentures, 1692-1834. Bastardy ledger, 1831-1835. Bastardy papers, 1700-1701, 1724-1786, 1829. Miscellanea, 1709, 1715-1867. Paupers' book, 1817-1831. Surgeons' certificates, 1831-1836. Electoral registration claims, 1832-1833. Surveyors' accounts, 1814-1837, 1828-1837. Church rate book, 1870-1871. BRITISH 2104845
Church rate book, 1872. Vestry minutes, 1820-1836, 1832. BRITISH 2104846 Items 1 - 4

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Lymm on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  •  Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 263–264, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  •  Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 148, ISBN 0 907768 18 0