Lymington, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Lymington, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LYMINGTON, a borough, market-town, parochial chapelry, and liberty, and the head of a union, in the Lymington and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 18 miles (S. W. by S.) from Southampton, and 95 (S. W.) from London..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lymington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|LYMINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy from Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Naish, Robert. From Lymington to Alberta - The Hayward Family. A wedding picture of Oliver Hayward and Bessie Ezitt Green of Lymington, Hampshire 1907, also picture of the Hayward Family taken in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, 1918, with history. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XX11, no. 1, May 1995, cover page and pages2-3. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Main, Margaret. Schoolgirl Aunts at Lymington. Photograph of class 6, Church of England Girl's School, Lymington taken around 1922. Many of the children have been named, and some of the history about them. Surnames of Stephens, Bartlett, Withers, Lewington, Halsey, Arnold, Smith, Rogers, Springer, Burgess, Pressy, Louvey, White, Payne, Hayter, Lawrence Warwick, Pride, Doe,Chambers, Lashford, Saunders, Broomfield, White, Wicham, Eales and Ganaway. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian vol. 31, part 1, pages 3-4, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 198-203. Date accessed: 11 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.