To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lye Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Lye, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Lye Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Lye
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Time, Gjesdal
Fogderi Jæderen og Dalene
Sorenskriveri Jæderen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Records for Lye clerical district begin in 1725. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Time (Lye) and Gjestal in Lye clerical district until 1927. The clerical district was divided in 1927 and became Time clerical district with Time parish, and Gjesdal clerical district with Gjesdal parish. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Extracts of church records containing births/christenings, marriages, deaths, konfirmations, moving records etc. for Klepp prestegjeld 1793-1900/1905 and for Lye prestegjeld (Time and Gjesdal parish) 1826-1903/1905. This is a database that can be accessed by computer at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

There are also databases of Lye parish and Lye clerical district which includes time and Gjesdal, 1826-1909

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1664-1666 Census (Manntall)

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt I Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Time Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Time Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 37) for Time (Lye) clerical district includes Time and Time (Lye) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Lye Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Time Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Ly Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Time Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for Time sokn i Ly prestegjeld Database

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Time Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Time Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

[1] Countdown for the release of the 1910 census database.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1666-1822: Probate records will be in the Jæren og Dalane judicial district.

1823-1896: Probate records will be in the Jæren judicial district.

1823-1896: Clerical probate records will be in the Jæren Deanery.

The probate records usually contain the date of probate, name of the deceased, names of heirs, guardians and trustees, inventory lists, land and holdings, and other miscellaneous information.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

History and genealogies of families living on farms in Time parish, Rogaland co., Norway. Lindanger, Birger and Waula, Jørg Eirik, "Time: gard og ætt", Time: Time Kommune, c2003-2004 948.31/T1 D2a vols. 1 and 4 FHL INTL Book

History and genealogies of families living on farms in Time parish, Rogaland co., Norway. Aurenes, Ola and Undheim, Roald, "Time gards- og ættesoge", Time: Utgitt av Time kommune, 1973 948.31/T1 D2a FHL INTL Book

Arneson, Søren, "Gards- of ættesoga for Gjestal", [Gjestal: Gjestal kommune, 1964. 948.31/G1 D2a 1964 FHL INTL Book