Lydney, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Lydney

Guide to Lydney, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lydney, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bledisloe
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chepstow
Registration District Chepstow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

LIDNEY, or Lydney (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Chepstow, hundred of Bledisloe, W. division of the county of Gloucester,20 miles (S. W. by W.) from Gloucester, and 123 (W.by N.) from London; containing the chapelry of Aylburton. At Aylburton is a chapel of ease; and the Baptists have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lydney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
Lydney Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1661-1812 1661-1812 1661-1753 1661-1753 1661-1812 1661-1812
AC 1813-1886 1813-1886 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1978 1813-1978
DEAN 1678-1949 1678-1946 1678-1978
FHSO 1800-1837

Lydney with Aylburton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Lydney with Aylburton Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1864-1870, 1906-1919, 1925-1929 1864-1870, 1906-1919, 1925-1929 1860-1870, 1906-1919, 1925-1929 1860-1870, 1906-1919, 1925-1929

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-85. Date accessed: 25 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 18 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.