Lycoming County, Pennsylvania Genealogy
Guide to Lycoming County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Social Security Records
- 2.27 Tax Records
- 2.28 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named after the Lycoming Creek. It is located in the north-central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Lycoming County Courthouse
48 West Third Street
Williamsport, PA 17701
Prothonotary/Clerk of Courts: 570–327-2251
Register and Recorder Office: 570–327-2263
Lycoming County Register of Wills/Orphan's Court Clerk: Phone: 570-327-2263
Lycoming County Website
County Clerk has birth records 1893-1905, death records 1893-1898, marriage records from 1885, probate records from 1850, and land records from 1795
Prothonotary Court has divorce and court records from 1795
The James V. Brown Library, 19 E. Fourth St., Williamsport, PA is the major source of Lycoming County genealogical info.
Lycoming County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
The county was divided several times into a large number of counties. 
For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
- ca.1700-ca.1950 - Pennsylvania Cemetery Records, ca. 1700-ca. 1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Names in Stone
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.
County-wide Database – Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry $
- Contains the church records of:
- Jersey Shore: Epworth United Methodist Church; First United Methodist Church; Lutheran Church; Trinity United Methodist Church
- Lock Haven: United Methodist Church
- Montgomery: First United Methodist Church
- Montoursville: Bethany Lutheran Church; United Methodist Church
- Muncy: St. Andrew's Evangelical Lutheran Church of Muncy
- Newberry: United Methodist Church
- Oriole: Oriole United Methodist Church
- Picture Rocks: United Methodist Church, Picture Rocks Charge
- Quiggleville: Central PA Conference of the United Methodist Church
- Williamsport: Christ Episcopal Church; Christ United Methodist Church; Covenant Central Presbyterian Church; First Baptist Church; First United Methodist Church; Immanuel German Reformed Church; Pine Street United Methodist Church; Presbyterian Church; St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church; St. John's Methodist Episcopal Church; St. Luke's Lutheran Church; St. Mark's Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. Paul Methodist Church; St. Paul's Lutheran Church; United Methodist Church; Wesley United Methodist Church
Union churches were formed in many townships. These churches met with their respective congregations, but shared the church property with those of other faiths. They were called Union churches. 
Of the main religious sects, the Baptists were one of the last to come to Lycoming County. Hughesville settlers were largely Baptist. They founded their church in 1849. Baptists organized in Muncy (1841), Jersey Shore (1842), Montgomery (1832), and other locations in the county.
Episcopalian circuit riders were in Lycoming County as early as 1797. Congregations were established in Muncy (1819), Mountoursville, Williamsport, and other locations in the county.
Lutherans were prominent from very early in the history of Lycoming County. Churches were organized in Muncy Creek (pre-1800), Muncy (1852), Jersey Shore (1869), Mountoursville, Williamsport, Montgomery, Huntersville (Trinity Church), and other locations in the county.
Frieden's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Jackson Township
- 1831-1875 Frieden's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Jackson Township, Baptism Index 1831-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C505321
- 1838-1852, 1868-1880 Frieden's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Jackson Township, Marriage Index 1838-1852 and 1868-1880 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M505321
Messiah Evangelical Lutheran Church, Washington Township
- 1846-1923 Messiah Evangelical Lutheran Church, Washington Township, Baptism Index 1846-1923 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
Methodism was popular early in Lycoming County history. Preaching began as early as 1821. Congregations were formed in Muncy (1821), Jersey Shore (1829), Mountoursville, Hughesville, Mill Creek (Centennial, 1800), and other locations in the county.
Williamsport was the site of one of the early Methodist Epsicopal churches in Lycoming County.
Presbyterians established congregations throughout Lycoming County. Towns with churches included Muncy (1834), Jersey Shore (1793), Mountoursville, Montgomery, and other locations in the county.
Jersey Shore Presbyterian Church
- 1849-1875 Jersey Shore Presbyterian Church Baptism Index 1849-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C524541
- 1854-1886 Jersey Shore Presbyterian Church Marriage Index 1854-1886 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M524541
- 1850s-1870s Jersey Shore Presbyterian Church Baptisms at The USGenWeb Project
Mount Zion Presbyterian Church, McIntyre Township
- 1871-1884 Mount Zion Presbyterian Church, McIntyre Township, Baptism Index 1871-1884 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C535081
Presbyterian Church, Newberry
- 1875 Presbyterian Church, Newberry, Baptism Index 1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C538651
- 1875-1885 Presbyterian Church, Newberry, Marriage Index 1875-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M538651
Presbyterian Church, Pennsdale
- 1847-1898 Presbyterian Church, Pennsdale, Baptism Index 1847-1898 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C536451
United Brethren met in Williamsport as early as 1886.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Bastian-Maneval Funeral Home is in Williamsport, Lycoming County, but their records include many with ties to Bradford and Tioga Counties.Bastian-Maneval website
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.
Land records in Lycoming County began in 1804. These records are filed with the Register and Recorders office in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1825 -1873 Mortgages. FHL film 1023980 (first of 6 films) - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of Lycoming County, Pennsylvania. 1892. Ed. by John F. Meginness. Chicago, Illinois : Brown, Runk & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Maps of Pennsylvania (1673-1878)
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free downloadable images from the 1873 Atlas of Lycoming County Pennsylvania from Actual Surveys by and under the Direction of Beach Nichols, published by A. Poweroy & Co. This atlas located in the Library of Congress shows major landowners and geographic sites at the date of publishing. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Pennsylvania, Register of Military Volunteers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization
Naturalization records for Lycoming County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1901-1930 Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. Circuit and District Courts for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 1906-1930; and 1901-1906 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1622, Middle District court was created in 1901, for earlier dates try the Eastern and Western District court records
- 1901-1930 Middle District, US Circuit and District Courts: Naturalization petitions, 1906-1930 located in U.S. Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1795-1972 (World Archives Project) database on Ancestry $
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.
Newspapers of Lycoming County
- 1807-1904 Lycoming Newspaper Index 1807-1904 at James V. Brown Library. Includes marriages, obituaries, funerals, political activities, court cases, land sale notices, and news items.
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- 1947-2010 Pennsylvania Obituary and Marriage Collection, 1947-2010 at FamilySearch
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Lycoming County, Pennsylvania.
- Lycoming Gazette published by William Brindle and hosted by USGenNet.org
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Lycoming County, Pennsylvania.
- Lycoming County Obituaries hosted by USGenNet.org.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate matters in Lycoming County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1683 -1993 Pennsylvania Wills and Probate Records 1683-1993 at Ancestry $
- 1683 -1994 Pennsylvania Probate Records 1683-1994 at FamilySearch
- 1795-1850 Probate Records of Lycoming County, Pennsylvania FHL film 383438 - images only; click on the camera icon to view images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1798 Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1726-1930 Pennsylvania Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 This collection is an index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact Lycoming County Courthouse
- 1626-2016 - Pennsylvania, United States Marriages at FindMyPast
- 1677-1950 Pennsylvania Civil Marriages, 1677-1950 at FamilySearch
- 1700-1821 Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry $
- Pre-1810 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry $
- 1885-1950 Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. Most of the records consist of marriage licenses, certificates, applications, docket books, and affidavits. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Death[edit | edit source]
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.
- 1720-1999 Pennsylvania Deaths and Burials, 1720-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 Pennsylvania Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1852-1854 Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary Lycoming County Courthouse.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Lycoming County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
- National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Lycoming County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.
- James V. Brown Library
19 East Fourth Street
Williamsport, PA 17701
Contact the library
- The library collection includes local newspapers 1807-present on microfilm (Online Newspaper Index), local history, Williamsport City Directories, and high school yearbooks.
Museums[edit | edit source]
- Thomas T. Taber Museum of the Lycoming County Historical Society
858 W Fourth Street
Williamsport, PA 17701-5824
- Collections include deeds, maps, manuscripts, local and county histories, and city directories.
- Muncy Historical Society & Museum
P.O. Box 11
Muncy, PA 17756
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Lycoming County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.
- Lycoming County Genealogical Society
858 West Fourth Street
Williamsport, PA 17701-5824
- The genealogical collection is housed in the Taber Museum. The collection includes over 2,000 rare documents and books, including deeds, maps, manuscript collections, local and county histories, township tax records and city directories. The society has photographed nearly all headstones in the county. Copies are available from the society. Holdings also include indexed county naturalization records.
- If you would like someone to conduct family research for you, you may contact the Genealogical Society, either at the museum’s phone number (570-326-3326) or at the Genealogical Society’s email address:firstname.lastname@example.org
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lycoming County PA Genealogy
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lycoming_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/12/2017
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Lycoming County, Pennsylvania, p.591
- Wikipedia contributors, "Lycoming County, Pennsylvania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lycoming_County%2C_Pennsylvania, accessed 27 January 2020.
- John F. Meginness, History of Lycoming County Pennsylvania (Chicago, Ill.: Brown, Runk and Co., 1892). WorldCat 35267167 FHL book 974.851 H2h.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/1/10/Igipennsylvaniall.pdf.
- The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012