Lutzenberg Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland Genealogy
Guide to Lutzenberg Parish, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Geography[edit | edit source]
Lutzenberg is located in the former district of Vorderland. It is the smallest parish in Appenzell-Ausserrhoden. The parish consists of two hamlets, Haufen-Brenden and Wienacht-Tobel. The church is located outside of the parish.
Lutzenberg has an area of 2.3 square kilometers (0.89 square miles). The area is used thusly:
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, including Lutzenberg.
History[edit | edit source]
Lutzenberg was first mentioned in 1634. It belonged to the political parish of Kurzenberg (then a part of the church parish of Thal, which was disbanded in 1666. It remained part of the church parish of Thal, to which it belongs today. In 1667, the population was 518. By 1734, Lutzenberg had 847 residents, which fell to 700 by 1813. In 1850, Lutzenberg had a population of 908.
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Locations within Lutzenberg[edit | edit source]
Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]
Click here for a map showing Lutzenberg in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell Ausserrhoden.
Collections[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lutzenberg was never its own parish, but belonged to the parish of Thal, which was united with the parish of Rheineck until 1716. The records pertaining to Lutzenberg were filmed by the Family History Library and can be found here. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) 1761-1868, marriages (Heiraten) 1761-1839, and deaths (Tote) 1761-1866. Records after this time period are available at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland.
Volume 1 (1834) - household visitation book
Volumes 2-3 (1840) - family register
A family book created about 1740 has been microfilmed by the Family History Library.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records, taken by the Zürich Synod, exist for Lutzenberg. The census are enumerated under the parish of Thal for the following years:
|Census Year||FHL Film number||item number||beginning page|
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
The following genealogies have been researched for Lutzenberg families:
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Civil registration began in 1876. Lutzenberg belongs to the Vorderland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
Surnames[edit | edit source]
The following surnames held citizenship in Lutzenberg prior to 1875:
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
The town's website (in German) is located here.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell Ausserrhoden (in German)
References[edit | edit source]
Registry of Appenzell Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos