Luton, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Bedfordshire
Bedfordshire Parishes
Luton

Guide to Luton, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Luton, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flitt
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Luton
Registration District Luton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603; Separate registers exist for East Hyde beginning 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

LUTON, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Bedfordshire. The parish contains the hamlets of East Hyde, West Hyde, Stopsley, Leegrave, and Limbury-cum-Biscott. An Independent chapel was built in 1866. The Union Congregational chapel, the Baptist chapel, the Ebenezer Baptist chapel, the Ebenezer Calvinist chapel and the Quakers' chapel are in Luton. As well as two Wesleyan chapels and a Primitive Methodist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Luton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = England Births, Marriages, Deaths (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Luton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1602-1759, 1683-1822, 1833-1837
1602-1812


FS Catalog BTs
1602-1852
1602-1852
1602-1852

East Hyde registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

East Hyde Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1842-1875, 1843-1849
1859-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1842-1983
1842-1983
1842-1983

Biscot registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Biscot Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1868-1885, 1879-1894
1868-1895, 1887-1898


FS Catalog PRs
1866-1930
1866-1930
1866-1930

Luton Christ Church registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton Christ Church Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1860-1885
1860-1875, 1875-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1860-1975
1860-1975
1860-1975

Luton St Matthew registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton St Matthew Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI

1866-1888


FS Catalog PRs
1877-1963
1877-1963
1877-1963

Luton St Mary registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton St Mary Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1709-1812, 1811-1875, 1813-1845, 1847-1873
1720-1761, 1813-1878, 1861-1884, 1882-1885


FS Catalog PRs
1603-1944
1603-1944
1603-1944

Luton St Peter registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Luton St Peter Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS Catalog PRs
1913-1972
1913-1972
1913-1972

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent
  • Union Congregational
  • Baptists
  • Ebenezer Baptists
  • Ebenezer Calvinist
  • Quakers
  • Wesleyans
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Roman Catholic
  • Presbyterian later United Reform Church

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Luton

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Luton on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870-72]. Date accessed: 4 Dec 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk