To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lupton, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lupton, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lupton, Westmorland
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union Kendal
Registration District Kendal
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Kirkby Lonsdale
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kirkby Lonsdale
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LUPTON, a township, in the parish of Kirkby Lonsdale, poor-law union of Kendal, Lonsdaleward, county of Westmorland, 3¼ miles (W. by N.)from Kirkby-Lonsdale; containing, with the hamlet of Crowbrow. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Because Lupton is a township in the parish of Kirkby Lonsdale, for church records see Kirkby Lonsdale.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 02 August 2012.