Lund Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Lund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Lund clerical district records begin in 1713. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Lund and Heskestad. Also included were Flekkefjord or (Nes) until 1820 and Bakke, Gyland and Tonstad or (Sirdal) until 1741. They are now in Vest-Agder county. Heskestad parish was transferred from Helleland clerical district to Lund in 1820.
- An extract of the church records of Lund in Rogaland county, 1724-1737. Transcribed by Trygve Rasmussen. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
- An extract of the church records of Lund in Rogaland county, 1761- 1815. This is a handwritten copy transcribed by Ola Auranes.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt I Database
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1758 Census (sjeleregister)
Clerical census taken by the priest in Lund.
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Lund Microfilm
The 1801 census (b. 37) for Lund clerical district includes Lund parish. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Flechefiord Database
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Lund Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Lunde Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Lund Microfilm
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
1875-teljinga for Lund Database
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Lund Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Lund (Dalerne) Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, Hå, Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Lund police station
*1882-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
A genealogy of the people and their farms in Lund in Rogaland county for about 450 years, from about 1500 to 1985.
- Mehus, Ingjald, Heskestad, Olav and Hadland, Arne, "Lunds historie", Lund: Utgitt av Lund bygdeboklag, 1961-1987; Lund: Lund Kommune, 1991.
948.31/L1 D2m FHL Intl Book Vol. 1. Gårdens og slektens liv / av I. Mehus -- Vol. 2. Folk i Lund det siste hundre år / Olav Heskestad -- Vol. 3. Lunds historie i ord og bilder / Arne Hadland.
Ancestors and descendants of several families from the farms of Lund Parish in Rogaland. Includes pedigree charts and text descriptions of individuals. It includes these farms: Mageland, Ytre Sandstøl, Handeland, Surdal, Sætra, Sætra, Eik, Handeland, Hove, Lunde, Hamre, Skår, Gursli, Skåland, Gursli, Skåland, Heskestad, Ovedal (Aavedal), Tjellesvik, Kjørmo, Hamre, Rusdal, Sirekrok, Kjørmo, Moi, Visland. A farm name index to volume 1 is found in the following link. File:948.31-L1 D2m v1 - LUND 1.pdf
- Mageland, Eivind, "Slekter i Lund", Moi, Norway : Mageland, Eivind, 1998. 948.31/L1 D2ma FHL INTL Book
|The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below.|
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
7 Aavedal, 23 Aueland, 42 Austreim,
10 Djubedal, 3 Drivdal nedre,
35 Eig, 12 Eige, 26 Eigeland, 1 Elve, 48 Espelistøl
2 Gjersdal, 16 Gursli,
20 Hamre, 31 Handeland, 24 Haukland, 11 Hellemork, 34 Horsmo, 32 Hove
36 Kjørberg, 37 Kjørmo, 5 Kvelland, 50 Kvidingen
30 Lagestranden, 44 Langelandstøl, 15 Liland, 21 Lindland, 14 Litlehei
43 Mageland, 27 Moi
51 Rusdal, 9 Røidland
49 Sandstøl indre, 45 Sandstøl ytre, 17 Skaaland, 22 Skaar, 39 Skaardal nedre, 29 Skjeggestad, 8 Solbjør, 47 Solli, 38 Steinberg, 33 Surdal, 44 Sædre,
46 Tagholt, 13 Tjellesvig, 19 Tronvig