Guide to Lummi Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.
To get started on American Indian Research
Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]
Lummi Indian Business Council
2616 Kwina Rd.
Bellingham WA, 98226
- Official Lummi Tribal web site
History[edit | edit source]
Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]
1820: Fort Langley established by the Hudson Bay Company
1820s: Trade with the Hudson Bay Company began
1843: The Hudson Bay Company established forts in Vitoria and British Columbia
1850: The tribe moved to the Puget Sound islands in an effort to avoid smallpox epidemics and inter tribal warfare
1855: Treaty of Point Elliot, cede land to United States
1857: Reverend Eugene Casimir Chirouse, a Roman Catholic arrived in the area
1858: Gold was discovered near Fraser River bringing more settlers
1859: Lummi Reservation is established
Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]
Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a very brief history of the Lummi Tribe.
Agency[edit | edit source]
Reservations[edit | edit source]
This tribe is primarily associated with the Lummi Reservation in Washington.
The Lummi Tribe was under the jurisdiction of:
Records[edit | edit source]
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Agency Records[edit | edit source]
Correspondence and Census[edit | edit source]
|Tribe||Agency||Location of Original Records||
M234 RG75 Rolls 962
M595 RG 75 Rolls 693
|Lummi||Tulalip Agency 1854-1952||Seattle||-||-||Rolls 582-93||FHL 576,937, 583041-052|
Treaty[edit | edit source]
- 1855 Point Elliott with the Dwamish, Suqamish Etc.,
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- Tulalip Agency, M595,
Births and deaths 1924-1931, FHL Film: 583049,
Births and deaths 1925-1932, FHL Film: 583050
Important Websites[edit | edit source]
- Official Lummi Tribal web site
- Constitution and Bylaws of the Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation, Washington as Amended 2008
- Lummi Tribe Wikipedia
References[edit | edit source]
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives; Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
- Hodge, Frederick Webb. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1906 Available online.
- Klein, Barry T., ed. Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Nyack, New York: Todd Publications, 2009. 10th ed. WorldCat 317923332; FHL book 970.1 R259e.
- Malinowski, Sharon and Sheets, Anna, eds. The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit: Gale Publishing, 1998. 4 volumes. Includes: Lists of Federally Recognized Tribes for U.S., Alaska, and Canada – pp. 513-529 Alphabetical Listing of Tribes, with reference to volume and page in this series Map of “Historic Locations of U.S. Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Canadian Native Groups” Map of “Historic Locations of Mexican, Hawaiian and Caribbean Native Groups” Maps of “State and Federally Recognized U.S. Indian Reservations. WorldCat 37475188; FHL book 970.1 G131g.
- Vol. 1 -- Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean
- Vol. 2 -- Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America
- Vol. 3 -- Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains, Plateau
- Vol. 4 -- California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
- Sturtevant, William C. Handbook of North American Indians. 20 vols., some not yet published. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution, 1978– .
- Volume 1 -- Not yet published
- Volume 2 -- Indians in Contemporary Society (pub. 2008) -- WorldCat 234303751
- Volume 3 -- Environment, Origins, and Population (pub. 2006) -- WorldCat 255572371
- Volume 4 -- History of Indian-White Relations (pub. 1988) -- WorldCat 19331914; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.4.
- Volume 5 -- Arctic (pub. 1984) -- WorldCat 299653808; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.5.
- Volume 6 -- Subarctic (pub. 1981) -- WorldCat 247493742; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.6.
- Volume 7 -- Northwest Coast (pub. 1990) -- WorldCat 247493311
- Volume 8 -- California (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 13240086; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.8.
- Volume 9 -- Southwest (pub. 1979) -- WorldCat 26140053; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.9.
- Volume 10 -- Southwest (pub. 1983) -- WorldCat 301504096; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.10.
- Volume 11 -- Great Basin (pub. 1986) -- WorldCat 256516416; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.11.
- Volume 12 -- Plateau (pub. 1998) -- WorldCat 39401371; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.12.
- Volume 13 -- Plains, 2 vols. (pub. 2001) -- WorldCat 48209643
- Volume 14 -- Southeast (pub. 2004) -- WorldCat 254277176
- Volume 15 -- Northwest (pub. 1978) -- WorldCat 356517503; FHL book 970.1 H191h v.15.
- Volume 16 -- Not yet published
- Volume 17 -- Languages (pub. 1996) -- WorldCat 43957746
- Volume 18 -- Not yet published
- Volume 19 -- Not yet published
- Volume 20 -- Not yet published