Luffield Abbey, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Luffield Abbey, ex. par., Northamptonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Luffield Abbey, Northamptonshire|
|Poor Law Union||Buckingham|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
LUFFIELD-ABBEY, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Buckingham, hundred of Greens-Norton, S. division of the county of Northampton, 5½ miles (N. N. W.) from Buckingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Luffield Abbey is an extera-parochial Liberty. See surrounding parishes for records.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Luffield Abbey on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-190. Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013.