Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Lowndes County

Guide to Lowndes County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Valdosta
Organized: December 23, 1825
Parent County(s): Irwin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Berrien  • Brooks  • Cook  • Echols  • Hamilton (FL)  • Lanier  • Madison (FL)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lowndes County Courthouse Valdosta, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Lowndes County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for William Jones Lowndes. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Lowndes County Courthouse
325 W Savannah Avenue
PO Box 1349
Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone: 229.333.5127
Lowndes County Website

Probate Court has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1858.[3]

Lowndes County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1870 1919 1858 1858 1862 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

1858 The courthouse at Troupville burned 23 June 1858 and also in 1870. Deeds and Superior Court records were destroyed. Some probate books survived.[5]

1870 The Ordinary's Office and all the county's ordinary (probate) records in Valadosta were destroyed by fire sometime in November 1870, probably 10 November, when ten offices and buildings were burned.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1825 Lowndes County was created 23 Dec 1825 from Irwin County.
  • County seat: Valdosta[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Lowndes County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lowndes, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Lowndes County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • History of Lowndes County, Georgia, 1825-1941. Valdosta, Ga.: General James Jackson Chapter, D.A.R., 1942?. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Cook CountyBerrien CountyLanier CountyEchols CountyBrooks CountyMadison CountyHamilton CountyGA LOWNDES.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Lowndes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lowndes County:

- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and D
- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Tiller's Company, Georgia Light Artillery (Echols Light Artillery) (Confederate)


  • Daughters of the American Revolution. 1978. History of Lowndes County, Georgia, 1825-1941: with new index. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 128-149) 975.8864 H2d
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lowndes County). 1967. Confederate pension roll, 1910-1928. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 550586


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Lowndes County Historical Society Museum
    PO Box 56
    Valdosta, GA 31603-0056
    Phone: 229-247-4780
    Website

Societies

  • Lowndes County Historical Society
    PO Box 56
    Valdosta, GA 31603-0056
    Phone: 229-247-4780
    Website
  • Lake Park Area Historical Society
    PO Box 803
    Lake Park, GA 31636-0803
    Phone: 229-559-5771
  • Hahira Historical Society
    202 E. Lawson Street
    Hahira, GA 31632
    Phone: 912-794-2274

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lowndes County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lowndes_County,_Georgia accessed 1 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lowndes County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 39-41. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.