Lower Swell, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Lower Swell

Guide to Lower Swell, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lower Swell, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Slaughter
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stow on the Wold
Registration District Stow on the Wold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stow
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

SWELL, LOWER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stow-on-the-Wold, Upper division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 1 mile (W.) from Stow. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Lower Swell, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Lower Swell, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1605-1812 1605-1812 1605-1753 1605-1753 1605-1812 1605-1812
AC 1813-1882 1813-1882 1762-1938 1762-1938 1813-1978 1813-1978
FHSO 1801-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References