Low Moor St Mark's, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Low Moor St Mark's, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LOWMOOR, a village and two chapelries in North Bierley township, Bradford parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The village stands adjacent to the Lancashire and Yorkshire and the Leeds, Bradford, and Halifax Junction railways, 3 miles SE of Bradford. The two chapelries are St. Mark and Holy Trinity. St. Mark's was constituted in 1858. Holy Trinity chapelry was constituted in 1865. There are a Wesleyan chapel and national schools. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Low Moor St Mark's exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|LOW MOOR ST MARK'S PARISH (1888) Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.