Low Catton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Low Catton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Low Catton, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Harthill; Ouse and Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington|
|Registration District||Pocklington; York|
|Parish registers: 1592; Separate registers exist for Stamford Bridge|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CATTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Pocklington, partly in the wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, and partly in the Wilton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, East Riding of York; containing the townships of East and West Stamford-Bridge, and Kexby. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1592.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Low Catton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Low Catton (1592) Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-538. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 November 2013.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 15 October 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.