Louth, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Louth, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Louth|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Rural Deanery||Louthesk and Ludborough|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Louth|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LOUTH (St. James), a market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the Wold division of the hundred of LouthEske, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 28 miles (E. N. E.) from Lincoln, and 150 (N. by E.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Roman Catholics, and others. 
There were two additional chapelries built in the 1860s including Holy Trinity (1866) and St. Michael's (1863).
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Louth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Louth Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Louth Holy Trinity Par 1 Louth St James Par 1 Louth St Michael will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionLouth The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Louth Holy Trinity Par 1 Louth St James Par 1 Louth St Michael will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionLouth
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Pollock, John M: A Community Revealed. History and family tree of two families of Saundby. Joseph Wilson, wife unknown with the following surnames; Jackson, Lowrys, Newling, Cottingham, Harrison Musgrave, Baker, Darley, Herring and Taylor. 2) Edmund Cottingham and Elizabeth Frances Easton with the following surnames, Musgrave, Wilson, Harrison, dating 1782-1948. Mr Pollock, was searching Cottinghams from Saundby, Harrisons from Spridlington, Musgraves from Cold Hanworth, and Herrings from Waddingham. Article in Lincolnshire Family History Soc. Mag vol. 18, no. 2, pages 77-80. FHL Ref. 942.53 D25Lf
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 179-182. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.