Los Angeles FamilySearch Library/Online Classes

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Home Live Help Now Library Appointments Online Classes Record Requests Resources Events and Societies

Click here for our Monthly Class Schedule

Classes will be hosted through Zoom. Please be sure to create an account before your class at the website zoom.us. Your confirmation email from the registered class will include a zoom link to join your class. The day of the registered class click on the zoom link and be ready 5 minutes before your scheduled class. Also, please meet requested prerequisites.

For help with Zoom, select one of the links below.

Instructions for Zoom Partication Registration.pdf
Zoom Classroom video
Zoom Classroom.pdf
Zoom for FamilySearch Classes Video
Zoom Para FamilySearch.pdf

Class Registration

You can register for one of our classes by clicking on the Open Details link to the right of any of the classes, then clicking on the registration link for the date and time you wish to attend. Here you will also find a class description and class handouts.

*We recommend joining classes 5-10 minutes before they start to resolve any connection issues.

FAMILYSEARCH BEGINNING CLASSES

[edit | edit source]

Beginning FamilySearch - Pam Kelly

Are you interested in discovering your family heritage? A beginning class in researching your family history will be taught online by the Los Angeles FamilySearch Library. The class is free, and will be taught using Zoom.

Class Handouts
Intro to FamilySearch pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates

  • Thursday, September 7th 3 PM (No pre-registration required) [link coming soon]

Help Center - Meredith Dangerfield

Have you ever come up empty when you search for help or ask a question? This class will show you that the Help Center can really help.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Blue Box Hints - Leslie Hackney

What are those blue boxes? Where can I find them? Can I trust them? Let FamilySearch’s computer system do some of your research for you. It’s painless and only takes a few minutes. This is a 20 minute class for FamilySearch beginners.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Fan Charts - Pam Kelly

Fan Charts is a fun class that shows how to use the fan charts and all the great information that can be found there. On the same tab as pedigree charts, there is also a descendancy chart that can be helpful in finding descendants. There are options and tools to use to get the most out of your experience.

Class Handouts
Fan Charts Handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Descendancy Charts - Cindy Mills

Learn how to use the FS Descendancy features to systematically locate and/or verify members of your ancestor's families. There will be a specific emphasis on looking for missing family members. We will seek to accomplish this by searching in FS databases and those of other family history websites for vital records and other ancestral documents.

Class Handouts
Descendancy Charts

Upcoming Dates

  • Wednesday, July 28th 2pm (No pre-registration required) Click here to join the Zoom meeting.
  • Wednesday, August 25th 4pm [link coming soon]
  • Wednesday, September 22nd 3pm [link coming soon]

RecordSeek.com - Meredith Dangerfield

This is a new program that transfers documents and index records from Ancestry directly to FamilySearch with just 2 clicks of the mouse.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


FAMILYSEARCH INTERMEDIATE AND ADVANCED CLASSES

[edit | edit source]

Saving Documents as Sources - Lynnette Kelly

This class will help you learn to add scanned documents as sources. We will fill out the Sources window with the important information about a person contained in the document and then attach it to that person. We will also learn how to attach records in the Source Box to people. Please come prepared with a couple of scanned documents that you would like to attach to someone.

Class Handouts
Saving Documents as Sources pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Adding Records Using the Source Linker - Cindy Mills

We will model and practice two ways to locate FS indexed records… finding selected Record Hints (those little blue squares) and exploring Search Records in FamilySearch. A "Steps with Pictures" handout will guide us through the process including how to attach records to our ancestors made easy by the specially designed Source Linker program.  Importantly, you will have the opportunity to practice with a consultant attaching records to your ancestors.  Due to the hands-on nature of this class, the duration is 1½ hours.

Class Handouts
Attaching Family Records to FT using the Source Linker

Upcoming Dates


Merging/Unmerging Duplicates - Cindy Mills

In this class we tackle the challenges of Merging and Unmerging Duplicates in a made-up family where we can practice the STEPS without doing harm to our own family in Family Tree. We refer to fictitious SOURCES to help us make merging decisions. Both STEPS and SOURCE handouts are provided ahead of class. Unmerging may be more difficult than merging, so there will be direction and practice in that. Due to the hands-on nature of this class, the duration is 1½ hours.

Class Handouts
Merging & Unmerging Exercise
Sources for Merging

Upcoming Dates


Merging/Restoring - Meredith Dangerfield

You thought that it was the same person, so you did a merge. Now after more research it is two different people. Now what do you do? This class will show you how to restore the tree back to how it was before the merge.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates
Lorem ipsum.


3 Ways to Merge - Janis Chandler

You have a duplicate. Three ways on FamilySearch to merge. We will show you how to merge by ID, merging using the source linker and merging by breaking a relationship.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Fixing Relationships - Belinda Hanks

When you find your family tree a little mixed up, don't be alarmed, it can be fixed.  You will have the opportunity to practice the steps that can straighten out your tree as you attend the class on "Fixing Relationships in FamilySearch."

Class Handouts
Fixing Relationships 2021 Handout pdf
How to Edit and Fix Relationships in Family Search pdf
Sources for Fixing Relationships pdf

Upcoming Dates


Puzzilla - Lara Turner

You think that all the work has been done, but what about cousins, 2nd cousins once removed? Puzzilla can help you find these ancestors.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


MEMORIES

[edit | edit source]

Adding Memories to FamilySearch - Lynnette Kelly

Learn how to add photos, documents and stories to the Memories section on FamilySearch. Come prepared with a photo ready to upload into FamilySearch.

Class Handouts
Memories Handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Making a Photo Album - Meredith Dangerfield

Check back soon for updates!

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates

  • Friday, September 17th 4 PM (No pre-registration required) [link coming soon]

Make a Photo a Memory - Meredith Dangerfield

This class will give you ideas on how to record your memories of the photos you take that day. It will provide you with “trigger” words so when you return home you can record your feelings, what you learned, what surprised you, what awed you the most, etc. You can then teach your family to participate in making each photo a personal memory.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Get Great Photos - Bruce Dangerfield

Improve the quality of your photos before putting them in Memories. Learn how to enhance photos using My Heritage photo app.Participants will also learn how to use a photo scan app.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates



RESEARCH TOOLS

[edit | edit source]

Beginning Research - Ted Kelly

So you’ve inherited a huge box of old photos and various bits of memorabilia and you’re finally committed to doing your family history. The question is now “how do I get started and what am I looking for?” In class we will begin our search for PSD’s (primary source documents), collaborative evidence, where to look for and how to attach sources to individuals in your tree. We will look at the basic process and how to document progress as well as an overview of research tools at our fingertips.

Class Handouts
Beginning Research by Ted Kelly pdf

Upcoming Dates


Vital Records - Meredith Dangerfield

What information can you find on a birth record, marriage record or a death record? More than just a birth date! Can’t find a birth date? Find it on the death record. Trying to find parents? Look on the children’s marriage record. This class shows you how to hunt for information when reading these records.

Class Handouts
Vital Records handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


US Census Records - Marlene Lee

Learn how to explore the Federal Census records to seek out your ancestors. Federal Census Records, from 1790 to 1940, are available online and contain valuable information about members of your family tree. Join us for an hour of instruction and then you can have one on one help to get you started.

Class Handouts
US Census Record handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Every Census - Meredith Dangerfield

The census comes out every 10 years but it is not always the same census. Depending what information you are looking for some census records are better than others. This class will show you each Census since 1850 and the different information on each one.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates

  • Friday, September 9th 5 PM (No pre-registration required) [link coming soon]

Immigration and Naturalization

This class will help you find your immigrant ancestor, by not only the ships lists and naturalization records but more.

Class Handouts
Immigration Worklist pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates

  • This is a pre-recorded presentation by Yvonne Sorenson, AG Course title: Immigration - Crossing the Pond, part 1: Collecting Records

Description: In order to search for your ancestor in the records in Europe, you need to know the town of origin. If you do not know the town of origin, you need to start searching in United States records. This lesson will teach you what U.S. records you can collect to help you find where your ancestor came from before arriving in the United States. Click here to view this pre-recorded presentation.

Crossing the Pond, part 2: U.S. Passenger Lists Part 2 will teach you about U.S. Passenger Lists, and what information you can find to help discover where your ancestor came from before arriving in the United States. Click here to view this pre-recorded presentation.
Crossing the Pond, part 3: European Sources Part 3 will teach you what European records are available to help you determine where your ancestor came from in Europe. Click here to view this pre-recorded presentation.


Newspapers & Obituaries - Janis Chandler

Learn how to explore the Federal Census records to seek out your ancestors. Federal Census Records, from 1790 to 1940, are available online and contain valuable information about members of your family tree. Join us for an hour of instruction and then you can have one on one help to get you started.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Finding the Elusive Ancestor - Lara Turner

It’s all in the way the search is done. This class will show you how to find that ancestor that stays hidden. Depending if you are on FamilySearch or Ancestry there are different ways to search for a name. We will show you tricks on both sites to help find that elusive ancestor.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Russian Research - Roy Sherman

A review of how I found my Russian, Jewish ancestors. Using the tools that assist in research and status of Russian records.

Class Handouts
Russian Research pdf

Upcoming Dates


Swedish Research - Leslie Hackney

Sweden's Church records are amazingly detailed, and navigating them is easy on Ancestry.com. Research strategies and helps will also be covered.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Italian Research - Lynnette Kelly

This class will show you how to find birth, marriage, and death records in Italy by using the research wiki. You will also learn some tools and strategies in your search for Italian records.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


WIKI

[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Wiki Intro - Leslie Hackney

In 20 minutes you can learn how to filter out what you don't need, so that you can successfully focus on the tools and sources that will help you get started on searching for your ancestors, wherever they came from.

Class Handouts
Wiki Intro handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates

  • Tuesday, August 10th, 2 PM [link coming soon]

Research Wiki - Cindy Mills

Explore the Power of the Research Wiki - FamilySearch’s online family history encyclopedia. Learn how Locality pages, Record Type pages and more can help you do your family history research and how the new Guided Research links can take you to key birth, marriage, and death databases to find those precious vital records. You will have an opportunity to work with a consultant to see what is available to help you research your ancestor. Because this class includes hands-on guided research, the duration will be 1½ hours.

Class Handouts
Research Wiki Handout pdf
FS Research Wiki Exercise 1-28 2021 png

Upcoming Dates

  • Wednesday, June 23rd 2pm (No pre-registration required) Click here to join the Zoom meeting.
  • Wednesday, August 11th 4pm [link coming soon]
  • Wednesday, September 8th 3pm [link coming soon]

Military Records

Check back soon for more updates!

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


MOBILE APPS

[edit | edit source]

Memories App - Roy Sherman and Lynnette Kelly

This class focuses on adding memories using the Memories app. Participants will learn to add photos, add details and learn to add audio to make their photos more interesting.

Class Handouts
Memories App Handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Using the FamilyTree App - Roy Sherman and Lynnette Kelly

Learn all about how to use the Family Tree app on your phone. FamilySearch has made using the app simple and convenient.

Class Handouts
How to use FamilySearch Mobile Apps pdf 2021
Using the FamilySearch Tree Smart Phone Mobile App pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


FamilySearch on the Phone - Bruce and Meredith Dangerfield

Check here for more updates!

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


CLASES DE ESPAÑOL

[edit | edit source]

Reseña de FamilySearch - Sister Salazar

Una introducción a FamilySearch. Pautas para comenzar tu propio Árbol Familiar. Regístrate GRATIS.

Class Handouts
Reseña de FamilySearch Handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates

  • Saturday, July 10th 10am (No pre-registration required) Click here to join the Zoom meeting.
  • Saturday, August 14th 3pm (No pre-registration required) [link coming soon]
  • Saturday, September 11th 2pm (No pre-registration required) [link coming soon]

Búsquedas Eficaces - Margarita Salazar

Estrategias para encontrar y adjuntar registros originales a tus antepasados en FamilySearch. Regístrate GRATIS.

Class Handouts
Búsquedas Eficaces Handout pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


La aplicación ‘Recuerdos’ en iPhone/Android - Salazar/Kelly C

Utilizando la aplicación Memories App para adjuntar fotos y documentos en FamilySearch. Regístrate GRATIS.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


ANCESTRY.COM

[edit | edit source]

Beginning Research with Ancestry.com - Meredith Dangerfield

There are some quick and easy ways to find documents on ancestry.com. Come and join us.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Walking Through England with Ancestry - Meredith Dangerfield

This is for Great Britain ancestry. The class will show you how to go to specific areas and parishes to find your family.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Navigating Through Ancestry - Meredith Dangerfield

Easy shortcuts to help research go faster and more efficient.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates

  • Monday, August 16th 4:00 pm [link coming soon]

Syncing your FamilySearch and Ancestry Trees - Leslie Hackney

Did you know that there’s a shortcut for transferring information and sources between FamilySearch and Ancestry.com? This tool requires a Church of Jesus Christ Membership Ancestry account (AKA a partnership account.) In 20 minutes you can learn how to save yourself hours of work with a few clicks of the mouse.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Ancestry DNA - Alan Hackney

An overview of the features of Ancestry DNA and how it can lead to family history discoveries.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! 3 Classes - Jackie Ireland

Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! Part I: Overview- Jackie Ireland

Take advantage of the power that is Ancestry. Prime focus is on understanding the power of public trees in Ancestry. On-line learning opportunities are also explored. Become familiar with the subscription types available to you.

Class Handouts

Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! Part 1 pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates



Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! Part II - Effective Searching on Ancestry Jackie Ireland

Be aware of three important things to consider prior to beginning your search. Explore in depth the places we generally begin our search – Tree Hints and their companion Suggested Records and the general All Records search. Learn the value of also beginning a search in the Ancestry Card Catalog.

Class Handouts

Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! Part III: Effective Searching-Jackie Ireland

Increase your familiarity with searching within Ancestry Specific Categories and Special Collections. Become conversant with the variety of options available to you as you decide what data elements to include in your searches.

Class Handouts

Ancestry.com Making it Work for You! Part III pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


INDEXING

[edit | edit source]

Beginner's Indexing - Janis Chandler

It is so exciting to find a hint for that dear ancestor. Indexing is the process of taking information from historical records images and putting it into a digital format. Indexing turns the records into searchable sources, allowing researchers to find and attach them to ancestors in their family tree in FamilySearch, i.e. HINTS! Your help is needed! No matter your experience, a refresher course is always helpful and you might just learn new tricks. This class is also helpful for beginners.


Class Handouts
How do I use FamilySearch Indexing pdf 2021

Other Sources:
Indexing Icons

Upcoming Dates


Intermediate Indexing - Janis Chandler

Indexing is the process of taking information from historical records images and putting it into a digital format. Indexing turns the records into searchable sources, allowing researchers to find and attach them to ancestors in their family tree in FamilySearch. Your help is needed.

Class Handouts
How do I use FamilySearch Indexing pdf 2021

Other Sources:
Indexing Icons

Upcoming Dates



Advanced Indexing - Janis Chandler

Indexing helps all people find their ancestors. Indexing is the process of digitizing records and we hope to give you some ideas of how to improve. Come and see how your help is needed!

Class Handouts
How do I use FamilySearch Indexing pdf 2021

Other Sources:
Indexing Icons

Upcoming Dates



Indexing and Handwriting Tips - Janis Chandler

This class will help you find resources to help read handwriting from different eras as well as different countries. This is a helpful introduction for anyone who has needed to read records from another country.

Class Handouts
How do I use FamilySearch Indexing pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates



CHILDREN AND YOUTH

[edit | edit source]

Indexing for Youth - Janis Chandler

What is indexing? It is so exciting to find a hint for that dear ancestor. Indexing is the process of taking information from historical records images and putting it into a digital format. Indexing turns the records into searchable sources, allowing researchers to find and attach them to ancestors in their family tree in FamilySearch, i.e. HINTS! Your help is needed!

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


FamilySearch for Children - Lynnette Kelly

Have you ever wondered how to get your children interested in doing family history? This class starts with a pedigree chart and helps children learn about using photos, memories and stories to enrich their connections with family members. We’ll also explore the Activities page on the FamilySearch website. This class is intended for children ages 8-11, but older children are welcome. A parent should accompany the child. It will also be helpful to have opened up your child’s account on FamilySearch and entered the beginning of their family tree.

Class Handouts
My Family for Children pdf 2021
FamilySearch for Children pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Memories for Children - Lynnette Kelly

This class is intended for children ages 8-11. A parent should accompany the child. This class will focus on using the FamilySearch Memories app. Your child will be taught how to add memories (photos, audio recordings) using the Memories app. Since your child will likely not have their own phone, these Memories will be uploaded to a parent’s account.

Class Handouts
Adding Memories with the Family, pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


Fun Activities for Families - Meredith Dangerfield

Have you ever checked out the activity tab on the top of FamilySearch? Lots of fun screen activities, computer, iPad or phone. Get the family together and have fun with family history. (You don’t have to tell them it’s family history!)

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


FamilySearch for Youth- Lynnette Kelly

Fun activities using the Family Tree app. Family history is more than a family tree!

Class Handouts
Using the FamilySearch Tree App pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


SPECIALTIES

[edit | edit source]

AFRICAN-AMERICAN RESEARCH

[edit | edit source]

African American Research Classes - Jackie Ireland

African American Research Part I - Jackie Ireland

Inasmuch as African American research post-1870 is the same as United States research, focus is upon the two best websites for US research. Therefore, this class explores African American research on Family Search.org and Ancestry.com, the best free and paid subscription websites respectively for family history research.

Class Handouts

African American Research part 1 pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates


African American Research Part II - Jackie Ireland

African-American-specific family history websites are the focus of this class. Included are well-known sites, such as Afrigeneas, as well as outstanding sites selected annually as a part of the 101 best genealogy websites featured in Family Tree Magazine. Major websites that feature African American collections are also included.

Class Handouts

African American Research part 2 pdf 2021

Upcoming Dates



African America History Research using Pre and Post 1870 Resources - Dr Edna Briggs

Check here for more updates!

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


MEXICAN AND GERMAN RESEARCH WITH JOHN SCHMAL

[edit | edit source]

Finding Your Roots in Mexico

This lecture will help people learn how to trace their roots in Mexico. Veteran genealogist John Schmal will show attendees how to access the records of their Mexican ancestors online and give them pointers about how to use that information once you have located it. Using a 45-page PowerPoint, John will point out some of the potential problems that arise with Mexican research and how to navigate those problems to get the results you need.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Search for your Indigenous Roots in Mexico

When most people think about the Indigenous people of Mexico, they think of the Aztecs and Mayans, but the Aztec Empire only ruled over eight of the current 32 states of Mexico and the Mayans inhabited only five states of present-day Mexico. We believe that every Mexican state has a story to tell and every one of Mexico's ethnolingistic groups has a story to tell. We hope to give them a voice by telling their stories.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Indigenous Chihuahua: Past and Present

The Mexican state of Chicuahua has been a crossroads between the north and south for many centureies. Dozens of indigenous people inhabited the region, but the silver industry and the mission system transformed the region during the colonial period. However, in the 18th and 19th centuries, the Apaches terrorized the area, and many native people either joined the Apaches or fled to the Spanish settlements for protection. John P Schmal will discuss Chihuahua's indigenous people through five centuries from the early colonial period to the present day status of its indigenous citizens.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Exploring Jalisco’s Indigenous People

This is a lecture to help people learn about the wonderful diversity of Jalisco’s original inhabitants. Using a PowerPoint presentation, genealogist and historian John Schmal will discuss the languages and the history of the Indigenous peoples who lived in Jalisco during the Sixteenth Century. He will also discuss the Indian revolts of the Nineteenth Century and show Jalisco’s recent census data relating to indigenous languages.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


Mexico’s Great Diversity in 2020

Using a PowerPoint Presentation, genealogist John Schmal will show the results of the 2020 Mexican census with regards to its indigenous languages and Afro-Mexicans. Using census charts, he will show the decline of Mexico's indigenous languages since 1895, and will highlight the indigenous languages that are considered to be at great risk of extinction. Mexico is proud to be the first nation in the world to publish its 2020 census this year.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


German Research and Genealogy

To understand your German ancestors and why they came to America, it is important to know about its history. In a 45-page PowerPoint presentation, John Schmal will discuss German history, as well as the primary motivating factors for Germans to emigrate to the United States during the 19th Century. He will also discuss online genealogical resources for German research, including some websites that have only become available in recent years.

Class Handouts
German History & Genealogical Research, 34 pages
German Research Websites, 2 pages
German History and Genealogical Research - John P Schmal

Upcoming Dates


Locating Your Immigrant Ancestors

John Schmal will discuss locating a point of origin for Mexican, Irish or German ancestors by locating church records, county biographies, passenger lists, obituaries, Ancestry.com and FamilySearch.org, and border crossings that shed light on those topics.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates



Searching for your Indigenous California Ancestors

John Schmal is involved in the Early California Population Project (ECPP). He will discuss how to utilize the Huntington Library database, county records, land records, mission records and newspapers.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates


WARD/STAKE LEADERSHIP AND CONSULTANT CLASSES

[edit | edit source]

Temple and Family History Consultant Preparation - Leslie Hackney

We create customized training for your ward or stake. Subjects we teach include the following: FamilySearch - Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced, Record Search using FamilySearch, Ancestry, Wiki and Partner Sites, Spanish classes, Indexing - Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced, Memories, Mobile App Classes, Youth Classes. Please send an email with your request.

Class Handouts

Upcoming Dates



Online Class Offerings

[edit | edit source]

Click the Link → Oakland FamilySearch Library
Click the Link → Sacramento FamilySearch Library
Click the Link → Orange County FamilySearch Library
St. George FamilySearch Center
Ogden FamilySearch Center
Layton FamilySearch Center
Riverton FamilySearch Library
Lehi FamilySearch Classes
Classes in the Learning Center
BYU Webinars