Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Lonoke County
 

Guide to Lonoke County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Lonoke
Organized: April 16, 1873
Parent County(s): Pulaski and Prairie[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arkansas  • Faulkner  • Jefferson  • Prairie  • Pulaski  • White
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasLonokeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-lonoke.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for a "lone oak" tree that stood on the site of the present county seat and was used as a local landmark. The County Seat is Lonoke and was founded April 16, 1873.[2]It is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Lonoke County Courthouse
3rd & N Center Street
PO Box 431
Lonoke, AR 72086-0431
Phone: 501.676.2368
Lonoke County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records.[4]

Lonoke County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1873--Lonoke County was created 16 April 1873 from Pulaski and Prairie  Counties. 
  • County seat: Lonoke[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Gray
  • Gum Woods (England)
  • Hamilton
  • Indian Bayou (Coy)
  • Isbell
  • Lafayette (Keo)
  • Lonoke (Lonoke)
  • Magness (part of Cabot)
  • Oak Grove (small part of Cabot)
  • Pettus
  • Prairie
  • Pulaski
  • Richwoods
  • Scott
  • Totten
  • Walls
  • Ward (part of Ward)
  • Williams
  • York (most of Cabot)


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Lonoke County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1821 - The first known white settlement was on Moss Prairie, founded by Sampson Gray from Williamson County, Tennessee.
  • 1849 August 9 - To encourage more people to settle in Brownsville, an ad was placed in the Arkansas Gazette. It read, “The site is a beautiful and elevated situation and persons wishing to make an investment in town prosperity will do well to attend this sale."
  • 1865 - As the soldiers returned home from the Civil War, they found that land, homes, and businesses had been destroyed. They began the task of rebuilding homes and businesses and getting the land ready to plant crops for the next year.
  • 1873 April 16 - Governor Elisha Baxter signed the act creating Lonoke County from the parent counties Prairie and Pulaski.
  • 2010 - Lonoke County has had a steady increase in population from its very beginning and now (2010) tops 68,300.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Lonoke, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 12,146
1890 19,263 58.6%
1900 22,544 17.0%
1910 27,983 24.1%
1920 33,400 19.4%
1930 33,759 1.1%
1940 29,802 −11.7%
1950 27,278 −8.5%
1960 24,551 −10.0%
1970 26,249 6.9%
1980 34,518 31.5%
1990 39,268 13.8%
2000 52,828 34.5%
2010 68,356 29.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1861-1949 Lonoke County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration records 1873-1884; Administration, executor and guardian dockets 1861-1886; Executor bonds and letters 1873-1949; Guardian records 1873-1892; Probate records 1873-1891; Wills 1873-1939.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Faulkner CountyWhite CountyPrairie CountyArkansas CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyPulaski CountyAR LONOKE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Lonoke County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company B

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lonoke County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/lonoke/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Lonoke County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lonoke_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lonoke County, Arkansas. Page 69 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Lonoke County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lonoke_County,_Arkansas, accessed 5 September 2018.
  8. Shirley McGraw, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=787&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Lonoke County.”
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.