Longthorpe, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Northamptonshire
Northamptonshire Parishes
Longthorpe


Guide to Longthorpe, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longthorpe, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Peterborough
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

LONGTHORP, a chapelry, in the parish of St. John the Baptist, Peterborough, union and soke of Peterborough, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2 miles (W.) from the city of Peterborough.[1]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.