Long Whatton, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Long Whatton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. "
|Long Whatton, Leicestershire|
All Saints Long Whatton, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Melton Mowbray|
|Registration District||Melton Mowbray|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1580|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WHATTON, LONG (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 4¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Loughborough. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Long Whatton like this:
WHATTON (Long), a parish, with a village, in Loughborough district, Leicester; 2¾ miles W by N of Hathern r. station, and 4½ NW of Loughborough. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels, a national school, and charities £5.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Long Whatton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Long Whatton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Long Whatton Bap 1549 - 1876 Marr 1549 – 1980 (Banns to1980) Bur 1549 - 1887
In addition the Leicester and Rutland Record Office have records for:
Long Whatton Baptist Births 1794-1837
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.