Long Load, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Long Load, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Load, Somerset
Christs Church Long Load Somerset.jpg
Christs Church Long Load Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Martock
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1749
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LOAD, a chapelry, in the parish and hundred of Martock, union of Yeovil, W. division of the county of Somerset, 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Somerton.[1]

Long Load, eccl. dist. and hamlet, Martock par., Somerset - dist., pop. 336; hamlet, 4 miles SW, of Somerton; P.O.[2]

Additional information:

Long Load is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Somerset, created in 1733 from chapelry in Martock, Somerset Ancient Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Long Load, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
WCGEN = West Country Genealogy - free[10]
LONG LOAD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1749-1808

FREG 1784-1793, 1813-1822
1749-1805, 1837-1906
1784-1908
JOIN
1749-1808

MARR
1559-1754

NBI

1813-1888
PALL
1749-1808

SOPC

1813-1974
WCGEN
1749-1808

Census records[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Yeovil Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/LongLoad/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
  2. John Bartholomew Gazetteer of the British Isles. Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  10. West Country Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.