London Family History Centre
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Centre, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The London FamilySearch Centre is a large Family History Center, similar to the FamilySearch Libraries of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (sometimes referred to as the Mormon Church). There are more than 4500 Family History Centres around the world with over 100 in the UK, but the 12 FamilySearch Libraries and the London Centre are larger and have more resources on site.
Microfilms previously available at the centre will soon be available at the Society of Genealogists (http://www.sog.org.uk/).
Centre Contacts and Hours
| The London FamilySearch Centre is temporarily located in the Reading Room of The National Archives of the United Kingdom.
- Within The National Archives Kew, Ruskin Avenue, Richmond England TW9 4DU United Kingdom
- For sat navs use the postcode TW9 4AD (Bessant Drive)
- Kew Gardens on the District Line to Richmond is the closest Tube station
- Parking is available onsite
- A reader's ticket is not required to use the Centre's resources
- Cafeteria and lockers are available
- There is an in-house bookshop with extensive selection of family and general history titles
- An excellent list of local bed and breakfasts is available at http://www.kewaccommodation.com/
- +44 (0) 207-589 8561
- Tue and Thur: 9:00am-7:00pm.
- Wed, Fri and Sat: 9:00am-5:00pm.
- Closed Sun and Mon (plus the Sat. of bank holiday weekends)
- Closed August Bank Holiday, Saturday 26 August to Monday 28 August
- Closed Christmas 2017 Saturday 23 December to Wednesday 27 December
- Closed New Year’s 2017/18 Saturday 30 December to Monday 1 January
See The National Archives' list of closure dates.
Calendar and Events
There is no permanent collection of microfilms onsite. Microfilms can no longer be ordered. The Centre has 32 computers for patron use with websites such as FamilySearch, the 1911 Census for England and Wales, FreeBMD, GENUKI, and subscriptions to Ancestry, The National Archives, findmypast, amongst others. Running on the internal server and available on each of its computers are databases which include but are not resticted to, the British Vital Records Index - 2nd Edition, the 1881 British Census, the 1881 Canadian Census, the 1880 U.S. Census, the Scottish Church Records database (10 million names indexed from parish registers before Civil Registration started in Scotland), the Mormon Immigration Index and the Pedigree Resource File.
- London FamilySearch Centre Catalogue: Discover what resources we offer. Browse or search.
Databases and Software
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Ancestry (International Edition)
- British Library Newspapers
- TNA Documents Online
- The restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and 1000's of parish registers and bishops' transcripts can be viewed at the Centre
- The Genealogist (thegenealogist.co.uk) is available for patron use without charge at the Centre
Hardware and Equipment
- The London FamilySearch Centre has 32 computers and two scanners for digitizing microfilm/fiche images for printing or for uploading to a memory drive at a minimal cost. Film and Fiche readers are available for use.
Staff Research Specialties
British and Caribbean genealogical research
Resources in the Local Area
- Guildhall Library
- London Metropolitan Archives
- The National Archives
- Society of Genealogists Library
(insert links here)
Volunteer at the Centre
(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)
- 'Computer and Subscription Resources,' London FamilySearch Centre, http://www.londonfamilyhistory.org/, accessed 28 July 2012.