Logan County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oklahoma
Logan County
 

Guide to Logan County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Guthrie
Organized: 1890
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Canadian  • Garfield  • Kingfisher  • Lincoln  • Noble  • Oklahoma  • Payne
See County Maps
Courthouse
OklahomaLoganCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ok-logan.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
This page adopted by:
MasterHistorian
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


County Information

Description

Logan County was created 1890. The town of Guthrie was designated as the county seat. The county was named on August 5, 1890 for U. S. Senator, John A. Logan, of Illinois. [2]

County Courthouse

Logan County Court Clerk
301 E. Harrison Ave. #201
Guthrie, Oklahoma 73044
Phone: 405.282.0123



Clerk Court has marriage records from 1889, divorce, probate court records; County Clerk has land records from 1889[1]

Logan County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1890 1894 1890 1890

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Logan County, Oklahoma:[3]

Cities

  • Cedar Valley
  • Crescent
  • Guthrie (county seat)

Towns

  • Cashion
  • Cimarron City
  • Coyle
  • Langston
  • Marshall
  • Meridian
  • Mulhall
  • Orlando

Unincorporated communities

  • Seward

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Logan County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1900 26,563
1910 31,740 19.5%
1920 27,550 −13.2%
1930 27,761 0.8%
1940 25,245 −9.1%
1950 22,170 −12.2%
1960 18,662 −15.8%
1970 19,645 5.3%
1980 26,881 36.8%
1990 29,011 7.9%
2000 33,924 16.9%
2010 41,848 23.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Logan County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

The County Clerk has the land records from 1889 to present.

Online Land Records

Current land searches for Logan County can found at [1]

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Logan County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Garfield CountyNoble CountyPawnee CountyPayne CountyLincoln CountyOklahoma CountyCanadian CountyKingfisher County, Oklahoma GenealogyOK LOGAN.PNG
About this image
</imagemap></imagemap>
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Logan County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Logan - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Oklahoma State Department of Health

1000 NE 10th

Oklahoma City, OK 73117

(405) 271-5600

Ok 2 Explore- --- Online search of Vital Records for State of Oklahoma with

Earliest Birth Record on file is 1865 & Death Records 1908. Required fee for copies.

Birth

Same as Vital Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorce

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Guthrie Public Library

Museums

Societies

Logan County Genealogical Society
406 E. Oklahoma
Guthrie, OK 73044


Logan County Historical Society
​PO Box 1512
Guthrie, OK 73044
Telephone: 405-215-9700
E-mail:amy.lchsok@yahoo.com
Website

Logan County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1419
Guthrie 73044
E-mail:neldab@cox.net


Websites

  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logan_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Logan County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logan_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.