Logan County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Logan County
 

Guide to Logan County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Paris
Organized: March 22, 1871
Parent County(s): Pope, Franklin, Johnson, Scott, and Yell[1]
Neighboring Counties
Franklin  • Johnson  • Pope  • Scott  • Sebastian  • Yell
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasLoganNorthernDistrictCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-logan.png
Adoption
Morning breaks across Petit Jean Mountain, Logan County, Arkansas

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Logan County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Paris, AR 72855
Phone: 501.963.2618
Logan County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[2]

Logan County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1877 1914* 1877 1878 1873
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1878 All records from county formation to 1878 destroyed by fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Logan County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Arkansas County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

  • 1800s (early) - A series of treaties with different tribes gradually removed their claim to the land, opening western Arkansas for white settlement.
  • 1830-1860 - settlers from states east of the Mississippi River poured into western Arkansas, establishing small farms and communities.
  • 1861-1865 - The population of Logan /County suffered tremendous hardships, and families who could afford it moved to other states for the duration of the war.
  • 1871 March 22 - An act was passed on March 22, 187l, creating “a county called Sarber.”
  • 1875 December 14 -The name was changed to Logan County, with Paris named as the official county seat.
  • 1930s - Hard times fell on the county in the Depression years of the 1930s. A decline in farm prices and a series of drought years devastated the farm economy. Unemployment became a major problem, and many families moved out of state to seek work

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from Logan County, Arkansas included in The Biographical and Historical Memoirs ofLogan County, Arkansas published by Southern Publishing Company in 1891 are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Logan County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Logan CountyPope CountyYell CountyScott CountySebastian CountyJohnson CountyFranklin CountyCrawford CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyNewton CountyConway CountyPerry CountySearcy CountySaline CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountyAdair CountyCherokee CountySequoyah CountyLe Flore CountyHaskell CountyLatimer CountyARLogan2.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Logan County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Patricia L. Curry, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=786&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Logan County.”
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.