To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Logan, Cache County, Utah Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Logan, Cache, Utah
Map
Map of Utah highlighting Cache County
Cache County's location in the state of Utah
Facts
Founded 1859
Seat Cache County
Address City Hall
290 North 100 West
Logan, UT 84321
Website: www.loganutah.org/
Named for: the Logan River (Utah)[1]

This page has been adopted by the Logan Public Library.

History[edit | edit source]

Logan is the county seat of Cache County, Utah and the central community of Cache Valley which extends into south-eastern Idaho. The Native American population, made mostly of bands of Shoshone, have lived in the region since prehistory. The first Europeans in the area were early trappers such as Peter Skene Ogden and Jim Bridger who explored the Logan River and surrounding regions as early as 1825.[2]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




The first permanent European settlers entered Cache Valley on July 20, 1855. These early settlers were members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (or Mormons) and sent by Brigham Young. This religion is the predominant religion to this day. Logan was first settled in April 1859 and named after the Logan River that flows through the city.[3]

City founders, rooted in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, are responsible for two of the great architectural landmarks in Logan: the Logan Temple and the Logan Tabernacle. Logan is also the home of Utah State University, a land-grant university founded in 1888. Old Main, another architectural landmark in Logan, is perhaps the best-known structure on the university campus.

The city celebrated its sesquicentennial in 2009. In 2010 the population totaled over 48,000, according to the census of that year.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Logan, Utah

Neighboring Communities[edit | edit source]

Benson, Utah | Hyde Park, Utah | Hyrum, Utah | Lewiston, Utah | Mendon, Utah | Millville, Utah | Newton, Utah | Nibley, Utah | North Logan, Utah | Providence, Utah | Richmond, Utah | River Heights, Utah | Smithfield, Utah | Wellsville, Utah

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]

Logan City Cemetery
1000 North 1200 East
Logan, UT 84321
(435)750-9895 or mark.johnson@loganutah.org

Cemetery Transcriptions[edit | edit source]

Check these online resources to find people who have been interred in the Logan Cemetery.

Mortuaries[edit | edit source]

Contacting a mortuary can give you invaluable information about the death and interment of an individual.

Allen-Hall Mortuary
34 East Center
Logan, UT 84321
(435) 752-3245
Nelson Funeral Home
162 East 400 North
Logan, UT 84321
(435) 753-3049

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes[edit | edit source]

Utah Population Schedule Indexes

Images[edit | edit source]

Also available are the following digitized census records:

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]

Wards and Branches of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Logan, Cache County, Utah

  • Centennial, Logan First Ward, Logan Stake, April 14, 1861 - April 14, 1961. Logan, UT: 1961.
    Logan Library   
  • History of the Logan Central Stake and Its Wards. Hyrum, UT: Downs Printing, 1986.
    Logan Library   Worldcat  
  • Centennial, Logan First Ward, Logan Stake, April 14, 1861 - April 14, 1961. Logan, UT: 1961.
    Logan Library   
  • Centennial, Logan First Ward, Logan Stake, April 14, 1861 - April 14, 1961. Logan, UT: 1961.
    Logan Library   
  • Dedication program, Sunday, September 23, 1962, Lauralin Drive, Logan, Utah : Logan Eighth Ward, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Logan, UT: 1962.
    Utah State University
  • Logan Fourth Ward, Logan Utah Cache Stake, re-dedication, April 29, 1979. Logan, UT: 1979.
    Utah State University
  • Cardon, John P. History of the Logan Fifth Ward, 1864-1930. Logan, UT: Unpublished Manuscript, 1955.
    Utah State University
  • Embrey, Jessie E. Little Berlin: Swiss Saints of the Logan 10th Ward. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah State Historical Society, 1988.
    Logan Library
  • Gardner, Eldon J. Centennial of the Logan Second Ward building, 1887-1987. Logan, UT: Watkins Printing, 1987.
    Family History Library  
  • Godfrey, Ken & Audrey. Logan East Stake History. Logan, UT: Watkins Printing, 2003.
    Logan Library   Worldcat
  • Mauchley, Wilma. Logan Eighth Ward, 1908-1967. Logan, UT: Everton Publishers, [1967].
    Logan Library
  • Maughan, Eldora J. Logan Second Ward History. Logan, UT: [2004].
    Logan Library
  • Mecham, Gwen H. Haws. History of the Logan 24th Ward, 1967-2003. Logan, UT: 2005.
    Utah State University
  • Morrell, Ada England. One hundred years of history of the LDS Logan Second Ward, 1861 to 1961. Logan, UT: Gateway Press, 1961.
    Logan Library
  • Nelson, Dale & Alice. History of the Logan 20th Ward, Logan East Stake. Logan, UT: 2002.
    Utah State University
  • Olsen, Nolin P. Logan Eighteenth Ward bicentennial history. Logan, UT: [1977].
    Utah State University
  • Ricks, Joel E. Logan Fifth Ward History. Logan, UT: 1950.
    Logan Library

Temple and Tabernacle in Logan

Presbyterian[edit | edit source]

First Presbyterian Church of Logan
178 West Center
Logan, UT 84321

Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Holy Trinity Lutheran Church
581 North 700 East
Logan, UT 84321
(435) 752-1453

Episcopal[edit | edit source]

St. John's Episcopal Church

 850 East100 North
 Logan, UT 84321

Catholic[edit | edit source]

St. Saint Thomas Aquinas Catholic Parish
725 South 250 East
Logan, UT 84321

Methodist[edit | edit source]

Trinity Methodist Church - Merged with the First Presbyterian Church in 1920.

Other[edit | edit source]

  • Simmonds, A.J. The Gentile Comes to the Valley. Logan, UT: Utah State University Press, 1976.
    Logan Library   Worldcat

City Records[edit | edit source]

Logan City Hall
290 North 100 West
Logan, UT 84321
(435) 716-9002

Council Minutes[edit | edit source]

The City Council has kept minutes of its meetings since January 1866.

Council Resolutions[edit | edit source]

In legal terms, a resolution is a written motion adopted by a deliberative body.

Council Ordinances / City Code[edit | edit source]

An ordinance is a piece of legislation, enacted by a municipal authority. The Logan City Council is the legislative arm of the city and has the authority to enact laws (ordinances) for the city. When codified, the ordinances become known as the city code.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Digital Directories[edit | edit source]

Print Directories[edit | edit source]

  • R.L. Polk & Co. Polk City Directory for Logan, Utah. 1904-current.

Histories[edit | edit source]

Web Histories[edit | edit source]

General Print Histories[edit | edit source]

Family Histories and Diaries
[edit | edit source]

Pictorial Print Histories[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Historical Overview[edit | edit source]

The recording of land on a local level began in 1885. Records back to that year are available by contacting the Cache County Recorder. Records before 1885 should have been recorded in a US federal land office; however, there was no federal land office in Utah until 1869. Records from about 1869 to 1885 and possibly earlier are housed in the National Archives, the closest branch of which is in Denver, Colorado.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Bird's-Eye View[edit | edit source]

Plat[edit | edit source]

Sanborn Fire Insurance[edit | edit source]

The University of Utah has digitized all known Sanborn Maps for Logan. Hard copies are also available at the Logan Public Library.

Topographic[edit | edit source]

Other[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Miscellaneous[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Titles[edit | edit source]

Digital Papers[edit | edit source]

Abstracts[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

The local history librarian at the Logan Library is happy to look up an obituary for you in most of the above newspaper titles. (Tip : Indexing of these papers is limited so give the librarian as much information as you can to make the search more fruitful.)

Railroad History[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Brigham Young College[edit | edit source]

Logan City Schools[edit | edit source]

Utah State University[edit | edit source]

Societies, Museums and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Utah State Archives and Records Service
300 South Rio Grande Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 533-3535

Utah State University Special Collections and Archives
3000 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322
(435) 797-2663

Digital Libraries[edit | edit source]

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Logan Public Library (Family History Library Affiliate)
255 North Main
Logan, UT 84321
(435)716-9143

Logan Utah FamilySearch Library
50 North Main (rear basement)
Logan, UT 84321
(435) 755-5594

Message Boards[edit | edit source]

Museums
[edit | edit source]

Cache County Daughters of the Utah Pioneers Museum
160 North Main
Logan, UT 84321

Societies and Groups[edit | edit source]

Vital Records
[edit | edit source]

While white permanent settlers began to enter Cache Valley in 1856, Logan was founded in 1859 and incorporated in 1866. Vital records from that time period until public records were kept may be found in alternative sources: newspapers, church records, family records, cemetery records, etc.

General Utah[edit | edit source]

Utah Vital Records

Logan Births and Deaths[edit | edit source]

Reliable birth and death records in Logan begin in 1898. In that year the Cache County Clerk began to keep a vital record register or ledger. This practice continued until 1905 when a state-wide registration of both births and deaths began.

Logan Marriages[edit | edit source]

Marriage was seen as a religious ordinance early in the history of Cache County. With the passage of the Edmund’s-Tucker Act, federal regulators outlawed polygamy, a common practice among pioneer members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (Mormons). The act also mandated a territorial registration of marriages which began in 1887.

Earlier records of Latter-day Saint marriages for persons living in Logan may exist in church temple registers. These registers are held in the Church History Library.

Sources and Footnotes[edit | edit source]

  1. "Logan, Utah," Wikipedia.
  2. Ricks, Joel E., ed; "The History of a Valley : Cache Valley, Utah-Idaho" WorldCat 4795309FHL 979 H2hv
  3. Godfrey, Kenneth W.; "Logan, Utah : A One-Hundred Fifty Year History" WorldCat 682188735