To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lodge on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lodge on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Lodge on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]


LODGE-ON-THE-WOLDS, an extra-parochial tract in Bingham district, Notts; 6½ miles S of Bingham.[1]

Additional information:

Lodge on the Wolds is an extra parochial place.

Directories and gazetteers contain references to a house formerly an Inn circa 1724 and described also as "only one house and 25 acres of land... It is said the house here was once a noted Lying-in-Asylum for pregnant ladies, who wished to secrete their illegitimate offspring, and
afterwards pass themselves upon the fashionable world as "virgins chaste and fair". The occupier is identified as Henry RANDALL, the landowner as Henry Cole BINGHAM Esq. Subsequently the Lying In house was operated by John Morley.

The function of Lodge on the Wolds therefore seemed to be an extra parochial place for the temporary housing of new born illegitimate children and their mothers. Since the purpose of the Asylum was to be in an area away from local clergy visitation the registers of neighbours Stanton on the Wolds, Nottinghamshire and Cotgrave, Nottinghamshire post 1700 may not assist in researching suspected illegitimate births.

Further references to Lodge on the Wolds include:

Lodge on the Wolds GENIUKI

A boundary map of the extra parochial area Vision of Britain

The 1896 abolition of Lodge on the Wolds lead to it's absorbtion into the civil parish of Cotgrave, Nottinghamshire for civil registration purposes.Bingham registration district

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 until abolition in 1896 Lodge on the Wolds formed part of Bingham registration district

Church records[edit | edit source]

Lodge on the Wolds parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Lodge on the Wolds Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk