To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Locating Online Databases Part Four: Internet Sources

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

In the last decade, there has been a literal explosion in the availability of online genealogy records. This article will explain methods for locating online genealogy records in a variety of internet sources.

  • For using the FamilySearch Wiki to find online records, see Part One.
  • For online records using FamilySearch Historical Records and the FamilySearch Library, see Part Two.
  • For online digitized books, see Part Three.

Warning Tips[edit | edit source]

First, here are some warnings to consider.

Complete or incomplete?[edit | edit source]

In some cases, the database shows a complete copy of all the existing or known records in a collection. However, in many cases

  • 1) the collection is still being digitized and uploaded. The uploading is a work in progress.
  • 2) the collection is fully digitized, but only partially indexed. The index is a work in progress.
  • 3) the original collection is still being gathered and will eventually be digitized, uploaded, and indexed. The collection is a work in progress.

It is important to read any descriptive notes about the collection. If it is incomplete, you will want to study the source again from time to time until you can determine that the project is finished.

Index, index and images, images only?[edit | edit source]

Some databases show digitized copies of original documents. Some databases are indexes of genealogical data found in documents. Some databases have indexed a collection of documents and linked the index entry to the digitized image of the document named. Warning! Every time information is copied into an index, abstract, or extract there is a chance of human error. An index may speed up location of a desired record. However, if the indexer misread or mistyped an entry, dependence on an index can result in missing a valuable record or greater details found in an original record. Always study the original source. Look at the digitized copy linked by the index. Browse the original source in the appropriate time period or section where you would expect to find your record, whenever possible.

Partner Sites[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch has a partnership with several subscription genealogy websites making it possible to view their collections without charge from a Family History Center computer.

Ancestry.com[edit | edit source]

Click to search Ancestry.com by index: Itty bitty arrow.png Ancestry name search.png

Click to search Ancestry.com by record source: Itty bitty arrow.png Catalog Search Use this to find records that are image only and have not been indexed.

Searching Original Images[edit | edit source]

If original images can be browsed, the direct links to images are found in the right sidebar:
Original image search.png

Findmypast[edit | edit source]

Click to search findmypast by index: Itty bitty arrow.png Findmypast search.png

Click to search findmypast by record source:Itty bitty arrow.png Search A-Z of record sets

Searching Original Images[edit | edit source]

Enter the word "Browse' in the Search A-Z of record sets search field to browse original images.

MyHeritage[edit | edit source]

Click to search MyHeritage by index: Itty bitty arrow.png Welcome to SuperSearch

Click to search MyHeritage by record source:Itty bitty arrow.png Collection Catalog

American Ancestors[edit | edit source]

Click to search American Ancestors by index: Itty bitty arrow.png {{{link}}}

Click to search American Ancestors by record source:Itty bitty arrow.png {{{link}}}

Geneanet[edit | edit source]

Click to search Geneanet by index: Itty bitty arrow.png {{{link}}}

Click to search Geneanet by record source:Itty bitty arrow.png Geneanet Collections

Cyndi’s List[edit | edit source]

Cyndi's List is a comprehensive, categorized and cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online. Cyndi's List

Google[edit | edit source]

Search Google with a combination of your location and a variety of keywords. Try "birth records", "marriage records", "death records", "genealogy", "family history", "probate records", "land records", "census records", etc.
Here is an example of a Google search.


Google search.png

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.