To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Littleworth, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Littleworth, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Littleworth, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Littleworth, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shrivenham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LITTLEWORTH, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish and union of Farringdon, partly in the hundred of Shrivenham, and partly in the hundred of Farringdon, county of Berks, 2 miles (N. E.) from Farringdon. [1]

Littleworth is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1842 from Faringdon Ancient Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Littleworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
Littleworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1839-1883


1839-1909
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Littleworth from Faringdon parish in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-118. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.

FamilySearch