Littleham cum Exmouth, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Littleham cum Exmouth, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Littleham cum Exmouth, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1603|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LITTLEHAM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon with part of the town of Exmouth. The parish is situated at the mouth of the river Exe. There is a place of worship for dissenters. 
EXMOUTH, a fashionable bathing-place and a chapelry, partly in the parish of Withycombe-Rawleigh, but chiefly in that of Littleham, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of East Budleigh, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (S. E. by S.) from Exeter. Here are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Littleham cum Exmouth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Littleham cum Exmouth Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Littleham cum Exmouth on GENUKI