Littledale, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Littledale, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
LITTLEDALE, a chapelry, in the parochial chapelry of Caton, and in the parish of Lancaster St Mary, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 6 miles (E. by N.) from Lancaster. Littledale comprehends one-fourth of the township of Caton. In 1752, the inhabitants of Littledale, owing to their distance from Caton St Paul's Chapel, built and endowed a chapel here, which is dedicated to St. Anne under Caton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Some online transcriptions exist for Littledale St Anne's Chapelry, also for the parochial chapelry of Caton and as well as for the ancient parish of Lancaster (Cathedral) St Mary--to which they were attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = findmypast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|LITTLEDALE ST Chapelry (1873) Indexes|
|CATON ST PAUL Chapelry (1551) Indexes|
|BLEASDALE Chapelry - which see also|
|LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes|
To view a full list of all the chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Lancaster and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the LANCASTER ST MARY (CATHEDRAL) page.
Church registers are housed at the Preston Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, UK. These original registers also have been microfilmed by FamilySearch. See their online catalog for microfilm details.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 101-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 October 2012.