Little Waltham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Little Waltham


Guide to Little Waltham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Waltham, Essex
St. Martin Little Waltham, Essex .jpg
St. Martin Little Waltham, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Chelmsford
Registration District Chelmsford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chelmsford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Waltham (Little) or Little Waltham, is a parish, with a village, in Chelmsford district, Essex; it is 3½ miles N of Chelmsford railway station. It has a post-office under Chelmsford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Essex Archives

Little Waltham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Little Waltham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1538-1945
1539-1957
1539-1953
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

The Essex Archives has the following church records available:

St. Martin Parish (Church of England)

  • Baptisms: 1538-1629, 1633-1945 (online)
  • Burials: 1539-1953 (online)
  • Marriages 1539-1957 (online), 1957-2003 (originals)
  • Bishop's Transcripts (originals or microfilm), lots of gaps
    • baptisms 1538-1869
    • burials 1539-1868
    • marriages (1539-1837)

Little Waltham Congregational Church

  • Baptisms: 1803-1837 (National Archives), 1841-1833 (originals)
  • Burials: 1823-1837 (National Archives), 1841-1899 (originals)
  • Marriages: 1862-1918 (originals)
Family History Library

Little Waltham (Independent) indices

Original Records

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Chelmsford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Little Waltham on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 20 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.