Little Stanmore, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Little Stanmore, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Stanmore, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gore
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Hendon
Registration District Hendon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Stanmore, Little St. Lawrence [1558], a parish, in the union of Hendon, hundred of Gore, county of Middlesex, ½ a mile northwest of Edgware.

Handel, who resided at Canons as chapel-master, is said to have composed his sacred drama of Esther for the consecration of Stanmore church; the anthems used in it were composed by him, and the morning and evening services by Pepusch. On September 25th, 1790, a grand miscellaneous concert of sacred music, selected from Handel's works, was performed to his honour in the church. See Edgware. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Little Stanmore Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1963 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1559-1840 findmypast[6] 1630-1639 findmypast[7]
Unknown findmypast[8] 1813-1837 findmypast[9]
1813-1837 findmypast[10]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Little Stanmore on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 183-186. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 17 May 2010).
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Lawrence, Little Stanmore in Harrow Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Little Stanmore in Harrow Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Little Stanmore in Harrow Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Little Stanmore in Harrow Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  7. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  8. 'Middlesex baptism records coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 29 September 2012.
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  10. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.