Little Ponton, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Little Ponton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Ponton, Lincolnshire|
St+Guthlac Little+Ponton Lincolnshire
|Hundred||Winnibriggs and Threo|
|Poor Law Union||Grantham|
|Parish registers: 1729|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Little Ponton St Guthlac is an Ancient Parish. To the south the parish includes Woodnook and Woodnook Farm.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Little Ponton like this:
PONTON (Little), a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln; on Ermine-street, the river Witham, and the Great Northern railway, 1½ mile N of Great Ponton r.station, and 2 S of Grantham. It has a post-office under Grantham. Acres, 1, 490. Real property, £2, 590. Pop., 208. Houses, 43. The property belongs to Turnor, Esq. P. Hall was occupied formerly by the Duke of Cleveland, and is occupied now by Broke Turnor, Esq. Many Roman relics have been found. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lincoln. Value, £400.* Patron,Turnor, Esq. The church is old but good, and has a low tower.
PONTON, LITTLE (St. Guthlake), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibriggs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2½ miles (S. S. E.) from Grantham. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Little Ponton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Little Ponton Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Little Ponton Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Search FamilySearch Catalogue Ponton, Little
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.