Little Driffield, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Little Driffield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Little Driffield, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Driffield|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1630|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Precentor of York with Prebendal Jurisdiction of Driffield|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
DRIFFIELD, LITTLE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Great Driffield, Bainton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York,1 mile (W.) from Great Driffield. The chapel, dedicated to St. Peter, was taken down and rebuilt in 1807.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Little Driffield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|LITTLE DRIFFIELD CHAPELRY (1704) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Little Driffield and comprising the whole ancient parish of Great Driffield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GREAT DRIFFIELD page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 91-96. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. Adapted. Date accessed: 7 November 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.