To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Little Brickhill, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Little Brickhill, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Little Brickhill, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newport Pagnell
Registration District Newport Pagnell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BRICKHILL, LITTLE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newport-Pagnell, hundred of Newport, county of Buckingham, 2 miles (E. S. E.) from FennyStratford. There is a place of worship for Weslyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Little Brickhill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Little Brickhill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1600-1835
1600-1835
1600-1835
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FS Catalog BTs
1600-1835
1600-1835
1600-1835

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Little Brickhill on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-362. Date accessed and adapted 20 June 2013.