Liskeard, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Liskeard, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Liskeard|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LISKEARD (St. Martin), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of West, E. division of Cornwall. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans and Association Methodists. 
Liskeard St Martin is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Dobwalls, Dubwalls, Greenbank, Halbathic, Liskeard Borough, and Trewidland.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Liskeard, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Liskeard, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|COPC||1669-1830, 1893-1911||1539-1837, 1876-1911||1669-1938|
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 126
Liskeard Society of Friends transcript of Marriages 1659-1837 also appears online. The typed transcript is of Quaker marriages in the Liskeard and St Germans are in records of the Cornwall Record Office.
Penharget Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Penharget Chapel Online Records|
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Liskeard.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Craske, Donald. The Craskes of Foulsham, Weybourne, Holt Etc. Family history of Thomas Craske and Susannah surname unknown, of Foulsham. One of the descendants moves to Liskeard, Cornwall, and then to Blean/Margate, Kent and then some of their children moved to India, and South Africa. Surnames mentioned, Knight, Ireland, Pegg, Funnell, Garbutt, Harvard, Noble, French, Welton with a photo of one of the Craske Chemist shops. Article covers years 1798-1923, and is to be found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7 pt. 7 pages 228-229, December, 1994, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j v. 7. n6-13.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Liskeard in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 98-101. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 20 May 2014.